Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Find Full Text

The EndNote 'Find Full Text' feature will try to locate full-text articles (PDF files) from various sources and attach them to references.

EndNote can carry out up to 1000 full text searches at a time, however the authentication system is limited to allow 50 requests per authenticated user in any 30 minute period. Systematic or excessive downloading is not permitted

Using the University of Melbourne authentication system can increase the number of PDF files EndNote finds.

Before using the 'Find Full Text' feature, make sure you have the following preferences:

  1. Select: EndNote > Preferences
  2. Select Find Full Text
  3. Enter the URLs:
    • ​OpenURL Path: http://sfx.unimelb.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/sfxlcl41
    • Authenticate with: URL:  http://ezp.lib.unimelb.edu.au/login

EndNote for Mac Find Full Text Preferences

 

To use the Find Full Text feature:

  1. Select one or more references.
  2. Click the Find Full Text button 
  3. A pop-up window will appear: enter your unimelb username and password and click the 'LOGIN' button.
  4. Click the 'Continue' button to the bottom right of the pop-up window.
  5. EndNote will attempt to locate a PDF copy of the reference(s). 
  6. Results will be displayed under the heading: 'Find Full Text' in the Groups pane.

If EndNote does not find the full text you can try the following:

  1. Select the reference.
  2. Select the menu option: References > URL > OpenURL Link.
  3. This will open the Source it @ Melbourne page for the reference, which will list any databases the university subscribes to that contain the full text.
  4. If the full text is available, save it to your computer and attach it to the reference.

SourceIt and Links

EndNote  for Mac needs to be customised in order to access:

Source it @ Melbourne, URL links in references, and "Go to ISI"

See above image in "Find Full Text" for customisation information.

Source It @ Melbourne provides information about availability of your references through links to e-journals, e-books, the library and Bonus catalogues and Google Scholar.  It also provides an interlibrary loan request form link for items not locatable elsewhere.

  • Select a reference.
  • Select References > URL > OpenURL Link 
    (This option is also available by right-clicking on a reference and selecting URL > OpenURL Link)
  • A browser window will open to the Source It @ Melbourne system.  Information from the reference will be displayed along with any appropriate services available to you.
  • Click on GO to access the required Online Source or other service.  Your University of Melbourne email Username and Password for authentication may be required.

If an Online Source produces an error message or does not locate the appropriate item, remove the information in the Year, Volume, Issue and Pages boxes and click GO.  This will link to the contents page for the Online Source where you may search or browse for the item required.

EndNote can also access links in references.  Either click on the link from within the Reference Window or click on the Open Link toolbar icon to open a browser window and go to the link. 

References received from ISI Web of Knowledge databases have 'Go to ISI' links. Click these to return to the record in ISI Web of Knowledge. This can be used to locate cited references, citing references and related articles.