Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Types of EndNote Online accounts

The way you create your EndNote Online account determines the features you can access.

If you create your account via the:

  • EndNote Online website: http://www.myendnoteweb.com/, you will only have access to the free version of EndNote Online, called EndNote Basic, with limited features, whereas if you create your account via:
  • Web of Science you get access to more storage space and features.

If you sync your EndNote Online library with EndNote desktop, you will get access to the full version of EndNote Online which includes unlimited storage space.

See the table below for details:

    EndNote Basic  EndNote Online with Web of Science   EndNote Online with EndNote desktop
How to access Create your account via the EndNote Online website Create your account via Web of Science Sync with EndNote desktop
Referencing styles available 21 6,000+ 6,000+
Storage for attachments 2 GB 5 GB Unlimited
References you can store 50,000 Unlimited Unlimited
Online resources searchable through EndNote Online 5 6,000+ 6,000+
References you can send from databases 9 500+ 500+

 

 

 

How to create an account for EndNote Online via Web of Science

If you have already created an account with another Thomson Reuters product, such as Web of Science or ResearcherID, you should use the same email address and password for EndNote Online.

If you do not have an account for a Thomson Reuters product, create your EndNote Online account via Web of Science:

  1. Go to the library homepage: http://library.unimelb.edu.au/
  2. Click the A-Z ejournals and databases link
  3. Enter ‘Web of Science’ in the Database Title Search box and click ‘Submit Search’
  4. Select: ‘Connect to: Web of Science’
  5. Log in using your University of Melbourne username and password
  6. Select: Tools > EndNote
  7. Select: Register
  8. Enter your University of Melbourne email address
  9. Follow the prompts to create your EndNote Online account

After creating your EndNote Online Account you can access EndNote Online via: http://www.myendnoteweb.com

How to Access EndNote Online via Thomson Reuters Databases

You can access EndNote Online via Thomson Reuters databases, such as Web of Science, which are accessible via the A-Z ejournals and databases link on the Library Homepage:

For example, in Web of Science, select: My Tools > EndNote from the menu at the top of the database homepage: