Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Manually Enter Records

To add a new reference: 

  1. From the Collect tab, click the New Reference link.
  2. Select the appropriate type from the Reference Type drop-down menu.
  3. Enter information about the item in the appropriate fields.
  4. Click the Save button.

Search the library catalogue via EndNote Online

  1. From the Collect tab, click the Online Search link.
  2. Select the catalogue you wish to search from the drop-down menu, for example U Melbourne for the University of Melbourne library catalogue.
  3. Click the Connect button.
  4. Enter your search terms (you can change the fields to author, title, etc...)
  5. Select the option: select a range of records to retrieve, so that you can retrieve a subset of the results if many are returned.
  6. Enter the number of results you wish to retrieve and click the Retrieve button.
  7. Tick the checkboxes next to the results you wish to add to your library.
  8. Use the drop-down menu at the top of the results list to add your results to a group.

NOTE: you should always copy the online search results you wish to keep into a group, even into the 'Unfiled' group, as when you leave the search results screen, the results will be cleared.


 

 

Direct export of references from databases

You can directly export references from many databases into EndNote Online.

Look for options such as Save to EndNote online:


OR Direct Export to EndNote Web:

Import References

Some databases do not offer direct export into EndNote Online.

To get references from those databases into your EndNote Online library, you will have to import them:

  1. Search a database.
  2. Mark/save the records you wish to put in your Endnote Online library.
  3. Select a file format, such as 'RIS' or 'EndNote' (see the EndNote Online help for the format to select for specific databases).
  4. Save the file to your computer.
  5. Go to EndNote Online.
  6. In the Collect tab, click on Import References.
  7. Click the Choose File button and select the file you saved to your computer.
  8. Use the Import Option drop-down menu to select the database or file format you used.
  9. Select the group you wish to add the references to.
  10. Click the Import button.

How to Capture References

You can capture references using either the EndNote:

  • Browser plugin for Internet Explorer or Firefox, or the 
  • Capture Reference bookmarklet, which works in any browser including Google Chrome.

Install the EndNote Browser plugin

Install the EndNote Online plug-in for Internet Explorer or Firefox.

Install the EndNote Capture Reference bookmarklet

To install the Capture Reference bookmarklet:

  1. Go to EndNote Online.
  2. Click the Downloads menu option.
  3. Drag the Capture Reference button to the favourites or bookmarks bar in your browser, or right click and select Add to Favorites or Bookmark This Link

How to Capture a Reference or References

Once you have installed the plugin or bookmarklet:

  1. Browse the Web or search a database, until you have a list of search results or a particular article or webpage you wish to add to your EndNote library.
  2. Click the Capture Reference bookmarklet or Capture button in your browser, and it will scan the bibliographic information on the web page.
  3. A window will open with options to add the reference(s) to EndNote Online or Desktop.