Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Find Full Text

EndNote (version X2 onwards) will locate articles (PDF files) from various sources and attach them to records.  There are many web based sources for the journal article PDFs. 

Using the University of Melbourne authentication system markedly increases the number of PDF files that can be retrieved.  Settings are found under Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text.   The 'Authenticate with' setting is https://ezp.lib.unimelb.edu.au/login

EndNote can carry out up to 1000 full text searches at a time, however the authentication system is limited to allow 50 requests per authenticated user in any 30 minute period.  Systematic or excessive downloading is not permitted

  • Select a reference(s).
  • Click the Find Full Text toolbar icon      

       Find Full Text toolbar icon

  • Authenticate by logging in with your University of Melbourne email Username and Password.
  • Click Continue and click OK to the Copyright notice.
  • EndNote will attempt to locate a PDF copy of the reference(s). 
  • Results will be displayed under Find Full Text in the Groups pane.
  • Articles can be viewed by clicking the Open File toolbar icon

       


Files, such as PDFs and Word documents, obtained through other means can be attached to records by using the References > File Attachments > Attach File menu.  This is also available by selecting the reference and right clicking to bring up the right-click menu.  Files can be viewed by clicking the Open File toolbar icon.

A directory of PDF files can be imported to EndNote (version X4 onwards) using the File > Import > Folder... command.  If the PDF file contains an embedded DOI, EndNote will attempt to retrieve details for the file from the DOI website.  

 

Source It @ Melbourne and URLs

Source It at Melbourne provides information about availability of your references through links to e-journals, e-books, the library and Bonus catalogues and Google Scholar.  It also provides an interlibrary loan request form link for items not locatable elsewhere.

The Source It at Melbourne address needs to be included in EndNote for this function to work.  The setting is found at  Edit > Preferences... > Find Full Text.  At OpenURL Path, enter http://sfx.unimelb.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/sfxlcl41

EndNote for Windows (version X onwards) is able to query Source It at Melbourne directly.  Note that EndNote records will require an ISSN or ISBN number for catalogue options to appear from Source It at Melbourne.

  • Select a reference.
  • Select References > URL > OpenURL Link 
    (This option is also available by right-clicking on a reference and selecting URL > OpenURL Link)
  • A browser window will open to the Source It at Melbourne system.  Information from the reference will be displayed along with any appropriate services available.
  • Click on GO to access the required Online Source or other service.  Your University of Melbourne email username and password for authentication may be required.

If an Online Source produces an error message or does not locate the appropriate item, remove the information in the Year, Volume, Issue and Pages boxes and click GO.  This will link to the contents page for the Online Source where it may be searched for the item required.

EndNote can also access links in references.  Either click on the link from within the Reference Window or click on the Open Link toolbar icon to open a browser window and go to the link. 

References exported from ISI Web of Knowledge databases have 'Go to ISI' links included in the record. To use these links to connect to ISI Web of Knowledge the setting for the function needs to be set to the University of Melbourne ISI Web of Knowledge service. The setting is at Edit > Preferences... > URLs & Links.  Replace the ISI Base URL with
http://gateway.isiknowledge.com.ezp.lib.unimelb.edu.au/gateway/Gateway.cgi