Skip to main content

Australian Cases, Legislation and Law Reform: Legislation

Resources for finding cases, legislation and law reform information all Australian jurisdictions

Northern Territory Parliament

Image source: Wikimedia Commons 

The Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory's publication Government in the Northern Territory includes information on the system of government in the Northern Territory.  

Authoritative Northern Territory legislation

The documents on the current Legislation Database should only be used as a guide and no responsibility is taken or accepted for their accuracy.  Acts and Subordinate Legislation printed by the Government Printer remain the authoritative versions.

See the Department of the Chief Minister's website for further information.  

Northern Territory Acts

Acts as Made

Sessional Acts

  • Northern Territory Acts as made (sessional Acts) are not freely available online. The Law Library holds ordinances and statutes as made from 1922 - 2003 (see catalogue record).
  • The Northern Territory Legislation History database contains historical consolidations of Acts and subordinate legislation of the Northern Territory of Australia as in force during particular periods. It also indicates whether the Acts or subordinate legislation were subsequently amended or repealed and gives details of the amending or repealing legislation.

Consolidations

Commencement Information

The commencement date is the date on which an Act comes into effect. This can be specified in the Act itself, notified through the Government Gazette, or specified in general in an Interpretation Act.

Relevant sections of Interpretation Acts include:

Northern Territory Bills

Bills from 1995 to current are available on the Northern Territory Legislation website. 

Bills from 1998 to current are available via AustLII.

Bills from 1975 to 1978 are available via the Northern Territory State Library Territory Stories website.

Explanatory Statements

Explanatory Statements have been produced in the Northern Territory since February 2005.

Explanatory Statements are available with each Bill on the Northern Territory Legislation database. You can browse by session, by sponsor, by bills before the Legislative Assembly and by title. 

AustLII also contains copies of Bills Explanatory Statements from 2005 to date.  

Northern Territory Parliamentary Debates

Hansard

In the Northern Territory, Hansards are known as Parliamentary records. The records of parliamentary proceedings provide a valuable insight into the workings of parliament.

Second Reading Speeches

  • Second reading speeches for bills (1998 - current) are available via AustLII.

Government Gazettes

Government gazettes from 2011 to current are available via the Northern Territory Government website.

The Northern Territory State Library has an archived collection of government gazettes from 1997 and many are available online as a PDF.  

Northern Territory Statutory Rules

Subordinate legislation from 2002 to date is available on the Northern Territory Legislation database. You can browse by subordinate legislation title, by agency, by parent Act, by year, by type, by principal subordinate legislation and historical Acts and subordinate legislation.  

Finding relevant legislation on a topic

  • Use the Advanced Search form on the Northern Territory Legislation website, enter your search terms and use the fields to refine your search by date, type of legislation or status.   
  • LawLex - select the 'browse legislation', deselect all the jurisdictions and then select the jurisdiction you are researching. Then select the category and if necessary a sub category.
  • TimeBase LawOne - use the search option from the top menu, enter the search terms and refine by jurisdiction. 
  • You could also try using secondary sources (books, legal encyclopaedia and journal articles) to identify legislation relevant to a topic.

Discussion of legislative provisions in journal articles

Journals are useful in finding discussion of legislation. 

Use AGIS to browse legislation discussed in journalsThe index feature allows you to search using indexed terms legislation and jurisdiction.  AGIS contains indexed articles from 1970 and full text articles from 1995.

LexisNexis includes journals that cover a range of legislative areas. Journals include the Australian Journal of Corporate Law, Australian Journal of Family Law, Australian Journal of Labor Law, Australian Property Law Journal, Insurance Law Journal, Journal of Contract Law and the Media & Arts Law Review.  You can search all journals sources or select one and search using phrases, article title, author and/or article citation.

Westlaw AU subscribes to journals that cover legislative areas such as building and construction, environment and planning, family law, local government and public law.  Useful search features include 'legislation cited' and 'jurisdiction' search fields.