Skip to main content

Australian Cases, Legislation and Law Reform: Legislation

Resources for finding cases, legislation and law reform information all Australian jurisdictions

Queensland Parliament

Image source: Wikimedia Commons

Finding Queensland legislation and information (PDF) is a comprehensive guide published by the Office of the Queensland Parliamentary Council.

See also Finding Legal Information from the State Library of Queensland for information on locating acts, subordinate legislation and other legislative publications.

Authoritative Queensland legislation

As of 2013, the Office of the Queensland Parlimentary Counsel authorises the electronic versions of legislation and reprints. Pre-2013 legislation will be progressively authorised.

Under section 46A of the Evidence Act 1977 (Qld), legislation authorised by the Parliamentary Counsel is taken to be a correct copy of the legislation until the contrary is proved.

To check whether a document is authorised by the Parliamentary Counsel, go to the end of the document. If the legislation is authorised, the authority statement ‘Authorised by the Parliamentary Counsel’ appears under the copyright statement.

See the statement on the Office of the Queensland Parliamentary Counsel website.

Tables and Indexes

Queensland Legislation Annotations

The current annotations contains the history of Queensland legislation including details of Acts, subordinate legislation and certain other statutory and prerogative instruments. Repealed annotations are also available.

Acts

Acts as passed

Acts in force

  • Legislation currently in force is available from the Queensland Legislation website. Current reprints are now authorised by the Parliamentary Counsel (for more information, see here).

Repealed Acts

  • Repealed legislation is available from the Queensland Legislation website. This also includes historical reprints of repealed legislation.

Commencement Information

The Acts Interpretation Act 1954 sets out the law relating to the commencement of Acts. All provisions of an Act commence on the day the Governor assents to the Act except when the Act expressly provides otherwise (see section 15A). If an Act does not commence on assent, the provision providing for its commencement will usually be found in section 2 of the Act.

For more information see Finding Queensland legislation and information.

Commencement information is available in the Current Queensland Legislation Annotations as well as in each individual Act.

Bills

The Queensland Legislation website has Bills from 1992 to current.  

Parliamentary Debates

Hansard

The Record of Proceedings is the official record of the debates and procedures of the Queensland Parliament's Legislative Assembly; that is, it is a record of what is said in the House and a record of the procedural events of the House. The Record of Proceedings is commonly referred to as Hansard.

The Record of Proceedings from 1860 is fully searchable and can be browsed by sitting date through the Queensland Parliament website. Live and archived audio and video broadcasts of parliamentary proceedings are available from 14 February 2011 on the Queensland Parliament website.

Indexes to Parliament Debates from 1860 are available on the Queensland Parliament website.

Tabled Papers

Tabled papers include documents and artefacts presented to Parliament in the course of its proceedings. The tabling of a document effects the publication of that document and the protection of parliamentary privilege. Documents tabled in parliament include reports from parliamentary committees, auditor-general reports, annual reports and budget papers.

The Online Tabled Papers database on the Queensland Parliament website contains tabled papers from 

Government Gazettes

Government gazettes provide proclamations by the State Governor, and official notice of actions taken by Government authorities, Government departments, local councils and companies.

See also this guide to Queensland Government Gazettes from the State Library of Queensland and this guide from the Queensland State Archives.

Subordinate Legislation

Subordinate legislation as made (from 1991 - current) is available through the Queensland Legislation website. This includes links to the explanatory notes and regulatory impact statements for subordinate legislation.

Explanatory Notes

Explanatory Notes have been issued for Queensland bills since 1990. Since 1992, they have also been published as a separate volume of the Queensland Acts. They are available online through the Queensland Legislation website, linked from each individual bill from 1992 to current.

For the period 1944 to 1991, the published Record of the Legislative Acts passed by the Parliament of Queensland contains descriptions of the purposes of Acts as passed. This Record is not available online and is only available in hard copy (see holdings here).

Statutory Interpretation

Finding relevant legislation on a topic

  • Use the Queensland Legislation Search feature, enter your search terms and select the collection you wish to search.
  • LawLex - select the 'browse legislation', deselect all the jurisdictions and then select the jurisdiction you are researching. Then select the category and if necessary a sub category.
  • TimeBase LawOne - use the search option from the top menu, enter the search terms and refine by jurisdiction. 
  • You could also try using secondary sources (books, legal encyclopaedia and journal articles) to identify legislation relevant to a topic.

Discussion of legislative provisions in journal articles

Journals are useful in finding discussion of legislation. 

Use AGIS to browse legislation discussed in journalsThe index feature allows you to search using indexed terms legislation and jurisdiction.  AGIS contains indexed articles from 1970 and full text articles from 1995.

LexisNexis includes journals that cover a range of legislative areas. Journals include the Australian Journal of Corporate Law, Australian Journal of Family Law, Australian Journal of Labor Law, Australian Property Law Journal, Insurance Law Journal, Journal of Contract Law and the Media & Arts Law Review.  You can search all journals sources or select one and search using phrases, article title, author and/or article citation.

Westlaw AU subscribes to journals that cover legislative areas such as building and construction, environment and planning, family law, local government and public law.  Useful search features include 'legislation cited' and 'jurisdiction' search fields.