Authorised reporting of court cases was begun in 1902 by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting. The following are the authorised report series for the Supreme Court of Queensland:
Prior to 1902, the reported decisions of the Supreme Court of Queensland are available in hard copy AND online on open access on the Queensland Judgments website. Note that these reports are not authorised.These reports are:
Mode of citation
By convention, the authorised report of a judgment is the preferred mode of citation.
In a number of Queensland courts, this convention has been formalised by a complementary set of Practice Directions:
For more information on the 'authority' of the Queensland Reports, and the rationale for the use of authorised reports in general, see the information on the Queensland Reports website.
The Queensland law Reporter
The Queensland Law Reporter has been published since 1908 as a weekly supplement to the Queensland Reports.
It is intended to allow the Editors of the Queensland Reports to provide the whole of the legal profession in Queensland with weekly updates of the most significant developments in Queensland statute and case law.
It is also intended for the publication of public notices. The Queensland Law Reporter is the publication approved under r 599(4) of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules 1999 (Qld) for the purposes of giving notice of intention to apply for a grant of probate or letters of administration under Chapter 15 Part 2. The QLR is also approved under r.12(3)(b) of the Supreme Court (Legal Practitioner Admission) Rules 2004 (Qld), for the purposes of giving notice of intention to apply for admission as a legal practitioner.
Other decisions of Queensland courts and tribunals can be found in the following databases:
This page includes the following information:
When you know the full citation, or partial information such as the name of at least one of the parties, the jurisdiction or court - there are several subscription and free caselaw online databases which we recommend using to find the case:
1. Start with secondary sources, which will cite significant cases on the topic.
2. Find relevant journal articles, use topic keywords to search:
3. Use commentaries on the topic, such as those on CCH, Lexis Advance Pacific and Westlaw AU.
4. In addition to using secondary sources:
Beware: the case law databases will find many cases, but not all will be significant - use books, articles and commentaries to ensure the importance of the case.
Use Secondary Sources!
The following will discuss the most important cases in the area:
The INFORMIT databases, particularly AGIS (law articles) and the HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCES COLLECTION (Melb Uni staff & students only).
AustLII Journals (free)
Case citators / noting up services will help you determine whether any later cases have considered your case and which earlier cases your case has considered.
The citators listed below will all reveal slightly different results so to search comprehensively we recommend using all of them.
The subscription services on WestlawAU and Lexis Advance Pacific have the distinct advantage of providing information on how your case has been treated in subsequent cases ie: whether it has been distinguished, followed, overruled etc.
CaseBase (Lexis Advance Pacific)
Free citators / noting up services
AustLII Noteup - when you have located the case you are looking for, the Noteup feature searches for all materials which refer to the current case. This will display all other cases which refer to this case and pinpoints to the relevant paragraphs in the citing cases.
Jade's Case Trace is a citator feature that appears on the right of the page of every case in JADE - it includes links to the full text of cases your case has cited and to cases which have cited your case - and pinpoints the relevant paragraph in the citing cases.
Subsequent consideration of Australian cases in worldwide cases
LawCite - is an automatically generated global case citator, which gathers information from all the 'LIIs" worldwide, so that you see where your case is cited in cases in other jurisdictions. It also lists free and subscription journal articles and law reform reports which discuss your case, and legislation which is cited in your case. Cases found in AustLII all have LawCite link beside the case which links straight to the LawCite record.