Skip to main content

Australian Cases, Legislation and Law Reform: Legislation

Resources for finding cases, legislation and law reform information all Australian jurisdictions

WA Parliament

Image source: Wikimedia Commons 

See the Parliament of Western Australia's website for information on the legislation making process. 

Authoritative Western Australian legislation

Electronic versions of legislation published on the WA legislation website have no official status. The State Law Publisher produces authorised paper copies of legislation.  See the Western Australian Legislation website for more information. 

Acts

Acts in force

Current compilations including all amendments (also includes links to all previous versions, reprints, history of the Act and all current delegated legislation made under the Act) available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Acts as passed

Acts in their original form from 1832 to current are available through the State Law Publisher.

Repealed Acts

Acts that have been repealed, expired or otherwise ceased to be in force since 1 January 1996 are available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Consolidated versions

Official reprinted versions of all Acts currently in force and a limited number of Acts no longer in force are available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Legislative information

Information about Acts is available through the WA State Law Publisher, including:

  • assent, commencement and ceasing information
  • Acts amended by Acts passed in the current year
  • Acts that have ceased to be in force
  • Acts with administering portfolios and public sector agencies

Bills

All Bills that have been considered since the 35th Parliament in 1997 are available through the Parliament of WA website.

Bills considered before 1997 are held in hard copy by a number of Australian libraries.

Information about legislation amended by bills before the current Parliament is available through the Parliament of WA website.

An explanation of the bills process is available through the Parliament of WA website.

Explanatory Memoranda

Prior to 2000, Explanatory Memoranda were produced on an ad hoc basis. A list of these EMs is available through the Parliament of WA website.

After 2000, Explanatory Memoranda were more regularly produced and tabled with every bill. These EMs can be found on each bill's homepage on the Parliament of WA website.

Explanatory memoranda from 1999 are also available through AustLII.

Parliamentary Debates

Hansard for both Houses of Parliament (Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly) from 1996 to current is available through the WA State Law Publisher.

The Hansard Archive contains documents from 1870 to 1995.

Reports of Parliamentary Committees

All Parliamentary Committee reports tabled in Parliament since 1998 are available through the WA Parliament website.

Government Gazettes

Gazettes and indexes from 1836 to current are available on the WA State Law Publisher website.

Statutory Rules

Current and historical consolidated versions of subsidiary legislation currently in force is available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Subsidiary legislation that has ceased to be in force is available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Official reprinted versions of current subsidiary legislation and some no longer in force are available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Commencement and gazettal information for subsidiary legislation currently in force is available through the WA State Law Publisher.

Information on principal regulations, rules, by-laws and codes that have been repealed or have otherwise ceased to be in force is available through the State Law Publisher.

Finding relevant legislation on a topic

  • LawLex - select the 'browse legislation', deselect all the jurisdictions and then select the jurisdiction you are researching. Then select the category and if necessary a sub category.
  • LawNow Legislation Western Australia on LexisNexis AU (UniMelb staff & students) provides an alphabetical list of broad topics / subjects, with links to the full text of current and repealed legislation on the topic.
  • TimeBase LawOne (UniMelb staff & students) – Select 'Search' from the menu to go to the Advanced Search mode and refine by jurisdiction (Western Australia).  
  • Tip: use secondary sources (books, legal encyclopaedia and journal articles) to identify legislation relevant to a topic.

Discussion of legislative provisions in journal articles

Journals are useful in finding discussion of legislation. 

Use AGIS to browse legislation discussed in journalsThe index feature allows you to search using indexed terms legislation and jurisdiction.  AGIS contains indexed articles from 1970 and full text articles from 1995.

LexisNexis includes journals that cover a range of legislative areas. Journals include the Australian Journal of Corporate Law, Australian Journal of Family Law, Australian Journal of Labor Law, Australian Property Law Journal, Insurance Law Journal, Journal of Contract Law and the Media & Arts Law Review.  You can search all journals sources or select one and search using phrases, article title, author and/or article citation.

Westlaw AU subscribes to journals that cover legislative areas such as building and construction, environment and planning, family law, local government and public law.  Useful search features include 'legislation cited' and 'jurisdiction' search fields.