This newspaper database includes a excellent collection of Chinese newspapers from 1832-1953, ranging from local, regional to national news. It also includes historical newspapers from Australia/New Zealand, Canada and the USA.
The North-China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. As the official journal for British consular notifications, and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, it is the first, and sometimes only, point of reference for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities. Published in English, it also features translations of Chinese official notifications and news.
TROVE provides text-searchable access to over 700 Australian newspapers from each State and Territory, dating back to the early 19th century. Useful for searching for papers relating to Australian perceptions of Chinese migrants and commentaries on matters of cultural assimilation.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection, parts I and II contains newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. It includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. British Newspapers parts III and IV supplement these collections with additional British regional newspapers