Skip to main content

Libguides Migration Project Guide

This is a guide to assist staff in the migration of our Libguides from the V1 Platform, to V2. All the necessary resources that staff need for this process, will be in this guide. This guide is produced by the Libguides Migration Working Group (LMG)

FAQs

FAQs about Libguides 2 - for Library Staff

What are the features of Libguides 2?
There are a lot of new features of the Libguides 2 platform,  that make it an improved tool for providing information to the users. Some of the new features include:

  • improved image handling (Image assets)
  • a specific database module (Database assets)
  • multiple content types in the one box
  • boxes that span the entire guide
  • gallery boxes to display images
  • Two types of Navigation - tradtional horizontal tabs and the new Vertical Navigation bar

Why are we moving to Libguides 2?
Libguides 2 offers a lot more features than Libguides 1, but we will have to move eventually, as Springshare has said they will not be supporting the Libguides 1 platform after the end of 2015.

I have some libguides I have created. What do I have to do to them before
the move?
The Libguides 2 Migration group (LMG) will be producing a checklist, that each person responsible for a libguides will need to check before the move takes place.

What date is the move taking place?
After some discussion with Library management and the DLs, it was decided that it was best not to change the libguides mid-semester. This means the “switchover” will take place at the end of semester 2. Though there may be slight changes depending on Sprinshare's workloads, the guides will be migrated to the new platform on 23/9, and the V2 libguides will become live on 23/10.

What happens to the old libguides after the move?
After Springshare does the Switchover from the old platform, to the new platform, they old guides are moved to a different URL.  The new libguides (libguide 2) will take the current URL, so the users will see those.
The older ones will remain available on their new URL for 3 months, and can be accessed for that time.  After that, they will no longer be available, so everything will need to be moved across to Libguides2 before then. These actions cannot be reversed by Springshare.

What happens to the libguides that have no author (because they have left)?
The LMG will generate reports and identify those guides with no author. The DL for the area will be notified and they will be asked to allocated an appropriate author to their team. Every guide will have one author assigned so that one person is responsible for changes that need to be made to it for its migration.

I have a libguide that isn’t used very much.. should I move it across?
We are taking this opportunity to weed out guides that may no longer be needed.  If there are guides that are now (for whatever reason) of questionable value, we will check (1) Is it still relevant?
(2) Has it been used much in the last year? If it isn’t being used much, we will ask the author to consider that it may not be worth moving across to the new platform, or may not be worthwhile as a standalone and should be combined into another Libguide.

Can the date of the migration be changed?
Unfortunately no. Once the date is set, the migration will take place on that date.

Can you migrate more than once?
No,  it is a once off event.

How does this affect the Libanalytics module?
It doesn’t – that module is separate

What happens to my libguide if I don’t do anything and it is moved across to Libguides 2, as is?
It will go across as is, but may lose some features.

What content types are the same in Libguides v1 and v2?

  • Rich text
  • Links
  • Documents and files
  • Books from the Catalogue
  • Widgets
  • RSS Feeds
  • Google Search

What link types will not migrate over?

Friendly URLs are the best. Admin side type link will not work that well. Public facing side type link will work fine.

Will all guides migrate over,  published or unpublished?
Public, private and unpublished will all migrate over.

How to get a friendly URL for a box?
Make a note of it, and then get the friendly URL for the box, once it migrates over. Make a friendly URL for the page, at the page level.

How do we know what will not come over?
There is a report that will tell us what will not come over.

What happens to content in a box that doesn’t come over?
The box will be empty when it comes over, it will be skipped.

Can we get Reports of Guides and users???
(eg users who are no longer around?)
Yes – yes the LMG can get reports from the checklist information link. We can see who has guides, users who haven’t logged in in X period of time, guides that haven’t been updated in x months, surveys with no recent submissions etc.

If someone uses an old URL, will it automatically redirect to the new URL?
Yes – it will redirect to the new V2 platform.

Links that are for databases – can you get them to go straight into the A-Z Databases manager module?
Yes, you can select links that are in Links boxes, and they will go straight across. Descriptions will come across as well. If the link has the exact same URL as another already in the A-Z Databases manager will recognise it as a duplicate and you will have the option of mapping it to an existing link asset.

However, database links in Rich Text / Dynamic Content / Scripts boxes will not be added to the A-Z Databases asset manager. We strongly advise you to add any database links you wish to move over to V.2 to a Links box.

Do Rich text items and widgets get migrated?
Yes.

Should the database links be in Rich text boxes or the link boxes?

Any databases in the rich text boxes need to go into Links boxes and lists boxes.
Database links remaining in Rich Text / Dynamic Content / Scripts boxes won’t be picked up by the database assets manager (which is one of main functions of Libguides 2). This needs to be done by August 28.

Are the links in the database spreadsheet links directly to the resource, or to the catalogue?
The links in the spreadsheet are to the (permalink) catalogue entry for the database. This is the current standard for linking to resources that we use for our web pages. (NEED TO CONFIRM THIS)

Do we need to check links?
Yes, it has to be done by Sept 30. However, priority is the getting the database links and titles matching.

Do we use the native link checker on the Libguides?
No it ignores some box types. We recommend you use this one (It’s a chrome extension)
Chrome: Check My Links

What happens if we just leave the database links as they are, and don’t match them so they conform to the spreadsheet?
When the migration process happens, it will look at the database link in the link box, match it with the database record for that in the database assets manager, and map the content to it. Custom descriptions will remain intact. (Links in link boxes will automatically be converted to Database assets, if the link URL matches the URL of a Database Asset existing in the system – yes custom descriptions will remain in tact.)

Is the Libguides 2 Database Assets Manager evil?

No, it is both righteous and helpful.  It is a popular feature of Libguides 2, and has many advantages:

·         It allows for you to easily select the one database to put into many guides.

·         Each database can have thumbnails assigned to them to represent the database, and the A - Z database will be a stand alonge module that the users can select databases from.

·         You can assign a friendly URL to each database, you can assign subjects to them to enable filtering, you can include vendor info and database type.

·         You can even mark databases as “best options” and put trial databases in.

·         You can assign little icons to the databases to indicate information about them.

·         You can sort Databases by type and vendor as well.

 

Is there only commercial services in the Database Assets Manager?
The Database manager is mainly commercial services, but we have not strictly defined databases, so non commercial free access databases could be added.

What if I have a database in my Libguide that’s not on the millennium spreadsheet?
If you have one, please let us know and we will make a note of it.

In the new LibGuides v2 can you explain how you update the database assets manager once it’s in LibGuides v2? Do you re-import everything and then libguides will keep the dupes and get rid of the broken links for you?
There is no automatic update function, Springshare have advised us we have to do it manually. This will most probably involve us getting a report run on Millenium, and then comparing that to a report that we run on the A – Z database, using Excel. This will highlight any changes to the databases.

When we migrate, and we have a database link in a link box in a guide, which then maps to the same database link that we have in our new Database assets manager…. will it override the description for the database in the guide with the info in the database manager… or will it stay intact?.

Custom descriptions in guides for assets will stay for that individual instance- so the database asset will have its description, but if it's different in a guide, that description will stay.

In the same situation as above,  what if the links are the same but the titles are different? Will the links match up, and be mapped, but the title information in the database links box of the migrating libguide be overwritten with the database asset manager title info….or will it be left intact?

Databases can't have custom titles, so if you've selected links to merge into databases, they'll have their titles overwritten with the database's title. If you didn't select the links to merge into databases (the second part of step III), then they'll be added as link assets instead of being merged.

How do we know what boxes won’t migrate?
The LMG will send out a report telling everyone what guides have boxes that won’t migrate.

Considering that databases links from Rich Text Boxes will not be moved into the database manager. What about other links in these type of boxes?
When migrating Rich text boxes: Rich text content will be moved across as the rich text content type in a Standard box as well. It just won’t add them as databases

to the database manager, because the database manager only looks at the Links boxes, not the Rich text boxes.

 

We have identified a few titles (not many) where we would prefer to have a variation on the databases name – is there any scope to do this?
Post migration, all the databases are managed centrally via the A – Z database manager, and the way that works now is that all databases in all guides will have the same title.

 

How do I add alt text to my images?

(1)    Select the guide that you want to check the images in, and sign in so you can edit it.

(2)    Go to the image in your guide, and select add/edit text for the box it is in.

(3)    Select the image, then go up to the insert/edit image button.

(4)    This will activate the pop up window for the image.

(5)    Enter appropriate alt text image for your image.

 

What happens to un-published guides during the migration?  Do they also get transferred over as un-published guides?

They go across as un published guides, and it doesn’t matter if they aren’t updated - as no one can see them. If they were then changed back to published guide status after migration, they would be needed to be updated to the V2 standard so that they conformed with the rest of the guides at that point.