Skip to main content

VETS20015 Foundations of Animal Health

Why Use Databases?

Use bibliographic databases to compile a list of references to journal articles, conference proceedings or book chapters on a particular subject. You can often link to the full-text of articles through these databases.

Help Using Databases

The following online tutorials and guides are available for University of Melbourne staff and students.

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
Advanced Scholar Search

Important Tip: Learn how to set preferences in Google Scholar to enable access to online journals and books subscribed to by the University of Melbourne Library.

Set your Google Scholar preferences:

When you are using Google Scholar off-campus you should set your preferences so that you can link to full-text content available through the Library:

  1. Go to Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/
  2. Click the Settings link at the top-right of the page.
  3. Click the Library links option to the left.
  4. Enter: 'University of Melbourne Library' in the search box and click the search button.
  5. Tick the checkbox next to the option: 'University of Melbourne Library - SourceIt@Melbourne'.
  6. Click the 'Save' button.

'SourceIt @ Melbourne' links will then appear on the Google Scholar search results screen that you can click to access the full-text if it is available through the library.

Links to Databases

Discovery is the gateway to tens of thousands of electronic journals, hundreds of scholarly databases and other resources subscribed to by the University of Melbourne Library.  Discovery also enables users to search across multiple databases simultaneously, browse resources and link through to the full-text or print copy.

Note: If you need to conduct a more thorough and advanced search then search individual databases.

The following databases or indexes should be useful for your research of Veterinary Science related topics: