This guide consolidates information sources which may be useful to students studying Political Science. It draws together subscription databases, websites, news sources, and online government documents
Original title page reads: Catalogue of parliamentary reports, and a breviate of their contents: arranged under heads according to the subjects. 1696-1834. [London, 1836] Pref. signed: James & Luke G. Hansard & sons. Reprinted in facsimile, with an introd. by P. Ford and G. Ford.
HCPP contains House of Commons sessional papers from the 18th through to the 21st centuries, with supplementary material back to 1688. The collection also includes Hansard from 1803 to 2005, Peter Cockton's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-1900, and diplomatic and consular reports 1887-1916. The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
he Churchill Archive is a unique online resource of more than 800,000 documents amassed by Winston S. Churchill throughout his lifetime. The original documents were produced between 1874 and 1965, and range from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. It will also offer an expanding range of additional materials - pedagogical resources and secondary materials, video and audio content, and more.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
The three parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1948: 1) 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International 2) 1930-1937: The Long March, Civil War in China and the Manchurian Crisis 3) 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese War and the Seeds of Communist Victory. These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic despatches, letters, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent periods of Chinese history.
Published in three sections covering the periods 1949-1956; 1957-1966; and 1967-1980; this project addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People’s Republic, in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.
These three collections consist of the British Government's files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Section I. Independence, partition, and the Nehru era, 1947-64 - - section II. South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71 - - section III. Afghanistan and the Cold War, emergency rule in India, and the resumption of civilian rule in Pakistan, 1972-80.
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. 1) Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; 2) Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 3) Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers provides direct access to documents from the highest level of government during the Macmillan Administration. Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963, are sourced exclusively from The National Archives, the UK government's official archive. This digital collection provides complete coverage (nearly 12,000 pages) of the Cabinet Conclusions (Minutes) (CAB 128) and Memoranda (CAB 129), and casts new light on Britain's relationship with the EEC, Anglo-American ties, the Cold War, Decolonisation, and issues of Public and Political Morality.