The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via our full-text search interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives. We currently have links to over 9.2 million records maintained by our collaborators. Free full text - managed by publisher, holdings subject to change.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in: electrical engineering; electronics; physics; control engineering; information technology; communications; computers; computing; manufacturing and production engineering. Inspec combined with the Inspec Archive provides coverage from 1898 to the present day. The database is updated weekly.
OPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content. It provides a range of journals, magazines, websites and services that enable researchers and research organisations to reach the widest possible audience for their research. The Library has access to the IOP Journal Archive, with over 206,000 articles published between 1874-2002; and the Turpion Journal Archive, which contains articles published between 1958-2002; and the IOP current journal collection with access to articles published from 2003 to the present day.
The collection contains materials science related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database, the leading global database in Materials Science
From astrophysics to quantum physics, materials science to optoelectronics, this unified e-library offers fundamental theories and contemporary investigations of time, matter, and space. It includes many volumes from the world-renowned Institute of Physics.
This is one of the major databases for chemistry but it can be very useful for certain areas in Physics, especially Materials Science. It is the web version of Chemical Abstracts compiled by the American Chemical Society. Before using Scifinder for the first time users must register while at a University of Melbourne campus to create an individual account. Click the link above and then click the link for the registration instructions.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Contains both current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available from 1900.
CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.
INSPIRE represents a natural evolution of scholarly communication, built on successful community-based information systems, and provides a vision for information management in other fields of science.
Plastics, carbon nanotubes, high-strength alloys, artificial bone and joint replacements are just some of the emerging materials for which the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) develops testbeds, defines benchmarks, and develops formability measurements and models.
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.3 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries and 3 intergovernmental organisations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors. SCOAP3 centrally pays publishers for costs involved in providing Open Access, publishers in turn reduce subscription fees to all their customers, who can re-direct these funds to contribute to SCOAP3. Each country contributes in a way commensurate to its scientific output in the field. In addition, existing Open Access journals are also centrally supported, removing any existing financial barrier for authors.
SCOAP3 journals are open for any scientist to publish in without any financial barriers. Copyright stays with authors, and a permissive CC-BY license allow text- and data-mining. SCOAP3 addresses Open Access mandates at no burden for authors. All articles appear in the SCOAP3 repository for further distribution, as well as being Open Access on publishers’ websites.