Skip to main content

Entrepreneurship: Citing and referencing

Citing Business resources using APA

  Company information

  Company information and data from library database (no author listed)

  • Dun and Bradstreet. (2013). BHP Billiton Limited, profile [Company profile]. Retrieved from Company360 database.
     
  • DatAnalysis Premium. (2013). BHP Billiton Limited, 2013 company financials as reported [Financial Data]. Retrieved from DatAnalysis Premium database.

 


  

  Industry information

  Industry report from library database (no author listed)

  • Business Monitor International (2013, May). Australia mining report Q3 2013 [Industry overview]Retrieved from Business Monitor International database. 

  Industry report from library database (author listed)

  • Stickings, M. (2010, September). Latin America Monitor: Brazil Monitor. Mining Report [Industry overview]Retrieved from Business Source Complete database.

  Industry report from print source (book) (author listed)

  • Koukin, N. V., & Zotov, V. E. (1993). Russian oil & gas industry: Professional guide. Moscow: A.D. Golubovich.

  Industry report from print source (book) (no author listed)

  • Oil & gas in the United States: Industry profile. (2005). New York, NY: Datamonitor.


 

  Country information

   Company Report from library database (no author listed)

  • Business Monitor International (2013, August). Australia business forecast report Q4 2013. Retrieved from Business Monitor International databse.  


 

  Website resources

  Documents from websites

  • BHP Billiton Limited. (2012). 2012 sustainability report. Retrieved from http://www.bhpbilliton.com/home/aboutus/sustainability/reports/Documents/
    2012/BHPBillitonSustainabilityReport2012_interactive.pdf

  Documents from websites (no date and no author listed)

  • BHP: Key statistics for BHP Billiton Limited. (n.d.) Retrieved August 26, 2013, from http://finance.yahoo.com/q/ks?s=bhp&ql=1

  Annual Report from a website

  • BHP Billiton Limited. (2013). 2012 summary review annual report. Retrieved from http://www.bhpbilliton.com/home/investors/reports/Documents/
    2012/BHPBillitonSummaryReview2012.pdf


 

  Journal Articles

  Article from database with a DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

  • Mallick, B., Garg, D., & Grover, P. S. (2013). Incremental mining of sequential patterns: Progress and challenges. Intelligent Data Analysis, 17(3), 507-530. doi:10.3233/IDA-130591

  Article from database without DOI

  • Miller, J. W. (2012, June 5). Under earth: Rocks or a hard place? Wall Street Journal - Eastern  Edition. pp. B1-B6. Retrieved from https://web-ebscohost-com.ezp.lib.unimelb.edu.au/ehost/detail?vid=15&sid=f1908883-854c-4c19-9c0a-7f8f6d2e95cd%40sessionmgr13&hid=28&b  data=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=bth&AN=76347442

 


 

  In text citations

    Page numbers and paragraph numbers

Use page numbers when making direct quotations.

Use the paragraph number preceded by the abbreviation ‘para’ for electronic resources without page numbers.

In a case where paragraphs are not visible, cite only the heading and the number of the paragraph following it.

Examples:

(Smith, 2010, para. 12)
(Thompson, 2008, Executive Summary section, para. 3)

Online citation style guides

re:cite is our easy-to-use tool showing commonly used styles and examples of how different reference types are cited:

Referencing software

Referencing software is designed to help you manage and automatically format your citations and references in your chosen citation style.

  • EndNote – downloadable software supported by the Library
  • Zotero – free Firefox plugin
  • Mendeley – free reference manager and academic social network