全国报刊索引数据库, 1857-1992 (Index) The electronic version of the National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals was first created in 1993. Now, it has become a super index database covering information for over one and a half centuries from 1833 to the present. It lists about 40,000 kinds of newspapers and periodicals published in China. The database contains over 40 million entries, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries. The database covers the following subjects: Social sciences , Science and Technology. Character input: Chinese simplified. The database is the web version of the following CD-ROMs:
Zhongguo jin dai qi kan pian mu shu ju ku, 1857-1919
Quan guo bao kan suo yin shu ju ku, 1920-1949 (1,320,000 entries)
Quan guo bao kan suo yin shu ju ku, 1920-1949 zeng ban (818840 entries)
Zhongguo jin dai qi kan pian mu shu ju ku, 1950-1979
Zhongguo jin dai qi kan pian mu shu ju ku, 1980-1992
Hytung Chinese Old Periodicals Database contains thousands of magazines and newspapers printed in China from 1792 to 1949. It includes newspapers such as: Tianjin Ta Kung Pao 天津《大公報 and I-Shih Pao 益世報 (The Social Welfare), The Republian Daily News 上海《民國日報, Changsha Dagong Bao 長沙《大公報, Sin Xua Rhbao 重慶《新華日報 (New China Daily News). In addition to the newspapers, it also brings together important materials for modern literary studies such as "Dian She Zhai Pictorial", "Embroidery Novel", "Education World" and "Novel Monthly". The database is updated periodically with approximately one million page images added annually.
CCND selects academic articles from over 500 publicly issued newspapers published in mainland China since 2000. Updated daily. The database contains the following subject collections: Literature/History/Philosophy -- Politics/Military/Law -- Economics -- Education/Society -- Science -- Love/Marriage/Family/Health.
Factiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. It is a valuable research tool for many disciplines, including political science, media studies, business, technology studies, social science, journalism, the arts, and more. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries, in 26 languages – including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
ProQuest Newsstand provides access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English and issued by an agency of the U.S. Government. The collection is supplemented by Annexes that were created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers. FBIS Daily Reports from Readex represent a unique resource for the study of foreign affairs, business, law, sociology, political science and more, as they cover all regions of the world.
This collection contains 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. These newspapers offer insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classifieds.
The Canton Times (1919-1920) ; The China Critic (1939-1946) ; China Monthly Review (1950-1953) ; The China Press (1925-1938) ; The China Weekly Review (1923-1950) ; The Chinese Recorder (1912-1938) ; The Chinese Recorder and Educational Review (1939-1941) ; The Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal (1868-1912) ; The Chinese Repository (1832-1851) ; Millard's China National Review (1919-1919) ; Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1921) ; The North - China Herald (1850-1941) ; Peking Daily News (1914-1917) ; Peking Gazette (1915-1917) ; The Peking Leader (1918-1919) ; The Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921) ; The Shanghai Times (1914-1921) ; The Weekly Review (1922-1923) ; The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922)
The North-China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. As the official journal for British consular notifications, and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, it is the first, and sometimes only, point of reference for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities. Published in English, it also features translations of Chinese official notifications and news.