The three parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1948: 1) 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International 2) 1930-1937: The Long March, Civil War in China and the Manchurian Crisis 3) 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese War and the Seeds of Communist Victory. These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic despatches, letters, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent periods of Chinese history.
Published in three sections covering the periods 1949-1956; 1957-1966; and 1967-1980; this project addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the People’s Republic, in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao, the arrest of the Gang of Four and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.
The Chinese Recorder Index is a comprehensive index to The Chinese Recorder (and Missionary Journal), with accompanying full text. The complete run of this journal has been indexed by person, subject and mission /organization. The search results can be filtered by subject, year or keyword providing an easily navigated research tool. All 75 volumes of The Chinese Recorder (and Missionary Journal) 1867-1941 have been digitised and are available within this database.
This is a collection of film advertisements and transcripts of Chinese documentary films and newsreels that spans the years 1946 to 1985. The original items are held in the Chinese Filmscript and Advertisement Collection held by the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University. The bulk of the items are transcripts for the documentary films and newsreels from the Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976. All documents are in Chinese.
This digital collection makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, at Cornell University Library; one of the oldest and most distinctive collections of its kind, and a very rich source for research on China. The Wason Pamphlet collection has been digitized in its entirety, spanning three centuries (c1750-1929).
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793 - 1980 provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists, and documents many of the key events that happened in this period.
China, America and the Pacific provides primary source materials for the study of the history of North American trade and cultural exchange with China during the 18th and 19th centuries. This collection also provides coverage of China’s economic dealings with the whole of East Asia and the Pacific. This collection offers insights into the early commercial development of New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Salem, Providence and Baltimore, with maritime routes between East and West Coasts detailed and mapped. Other key Pacific trading posts are covered, including Hawai'i, the Philippines, India, Sumatra, Mauritius and Batavia. Early fur traders in Canada and the Pacific Northwest are also well covered.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. NCCO unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource of over 100 types of primary source documents, including Books and monographs, Newspapers and periodicals, Diaries and personal letters, Manuscripts, Photographs, Pamphlets, Maps, Sheet music and more.
The Anti-Rightist Campaign in 1957 was a nationwide mass political campaign launched by the Chinese Communist Party and its leader Mao Zedong after the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949. This database is a major historical archival project containing content drawn from libraries with Asian collections all over the world, and many items from private collectors. After sifting through millions of official and unofficial documents and meticulous editorial work, the editors are finally able to present a database with nearly ten thousand documents to the readers. The historical sources included in this database are limited to first-hand original written materials only. Some documents that came into being after the Anti-Rightist Campaign, but were closely connected to the Campaign, are also included. However, secondary sources such as memoirs and interviews are not included.
Sponsored by the MacArthur Foundation, the Chinese Foreign Policy Database enhances the ability of contemporary observers and historians to gain broader perspectives on Chinese policies. Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China's foreign policy since 1949 and its relation to ideology, revolution, economy and traditional Chinese culture.
The ANU Library holds a number of unique, and in some cases rare and fragile, collections in both print and microfilm relating to the Chinese Cultural Revolution period (1966-1976). Although most of the material is held in the ANU Library, some material is held in private collections by ANU academic staff who have been willing to have their materials included in the database.
This database of the Heidelberg Research Architecture (HRA) is linked to a collaborative project funded by the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the German Humboldt Foundation. It is currently expanding with additional funding from the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation. This project seeks to restore complexity to early-twentieth-century Chinese history by liberating that history from reductive discourses on the failings of tradition and the promise of modernity. Four seminal women's journals are included. They are: Nüzi shijie 女子世界 (Women’s World, 1904-07); Funü shibao (The women's eastern times, 1911-17); Funü zazhi (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31); and Linglong (Elegance/La Petite, 1931-37) 玲瓏.