Catalogue of historical images of Chinese, Chinese immigrants and their Australian descendants. Includes photographic holdings of the Chinese Museum and other online archives, publications and private family collections. Built into the database is the beginnings of an encyclopaedia of Chinese-Australian history, complete with bibliography, which provides contextual information about the images in the database.
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. ARTstor's community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
The Harvard-Yenching Library holds some 5,000 photographs and 10,000 negatives taken by Hedda Hammer Morrison (1908–1991) while resident in Beijing from 1933 to 1946. The photographs, mounted in thematic albums prepared by Mrs. Morrison, and the negatives, were bequeathed to the Harvard-Yenching Library, "the best permanent home for her vision of a city and people that she loved [Alastair Morrison]."
A collaboration between scholars at the University of Bristol, University of Lincoln, the Institut d'Asie Orientale and TGE-Adonis, this project aims to locate, archive, and disseminate photographs from the substantial holdings of images of modern China held mostly in private hands overseas.
Over 1000 photos of Muslims and Christian missionaries working among them in Western China in the 1920s and 1930s form the core of this collection, which is supplemented by several hundred books, pamphlets, broadsides, etc., in several languages.
Robert Henry Chandless arrived in Shanghai from New York around 1900 to join the British import-export firm of Pool Lander. Although little is known about him, his collection of photographs represent a fascinating travelogue of images of China in the early 1900s. These include candid scenes and tourist views of Peking and Tientsin; foreign legations and private residences of American, British and other diplomatic personnel; the wool industry in Tientsin; and contemporary views of the Boxer Rebellion (1900) including images of the international relief force of soldiers and sailors that came to the aid of the besieged foreign delegations in Peking and elsewhere.
The Asian Maps Collection of the University of Southern California brings together a range of graphic representations of East and Southeast Asia, their features, localities and history. Included in this collection are some valuable old Chinese maps that have been digitized.