Skip to main content

ABPL90146 Architectural conservation in East Asia

This is for students enrolled in ABPL90146 Architectural Conservation in East Asia

Welcome to the Architectural Conservation in East Asia Guide

 

This guide is for students studying ABPL90146. It contains:

  • Tips for searching the Library catalogue, including the East Asian collection
  • How to reference in Chicago, with information on referencing sources in non-English languages
  • Examples of how to search major databases
  • Direct links to subject headings, online journal databases and websites for English, Chinese, Japanese and Korean language resources

Chicago Referencing Style

 

Referencing in Chicago 17A (Footnotes)


For this subject, please use the Chicago 17A style of referencing (Chicago 16A is also ok to use).

For examples of how to reference, see Chicago 17A (Footnotes) in Re:Cite. This page will show you how to reference the most common types of sources, such as:

  • Journal articles
  • Books and book chapters
  • Government documents
  • Websites
  • Images

 

Referencing foreign language sources


If you are referencing foreign language sources in Chicago 17A (Footnotes), You need to include the original title, followed by the English translation of the title enclosed in brackets. For example:

Footnote: 

W. Kern, “Waar verzamelde Pigafetta zijn Maleise woorden?” [Where did Pigafetta collect his Malaysian words?], Tijdschrift voor Indische taal-, land- en volkenkunde 78 (1938): 272.

W. Yu, "Luyeyuan shiku de buju sheji yu zaoxiang zuhe" [The Design and Statues Combination of Mrgadava Caves],  Zhongyuan Wenwu 2 (2011): 68.

Bibliography:

Kern, W. “Waar verzamelde Pigafetta zijn Maleise woorden?” [Where did Pigafetta collect his Malaysian words?]. Tijdschrift voor Indische taal-, land- en volkenkunde 78 (1938): 271–73.

Yu, W. "Luyeyuan shiku de buju sheji yu zaoxiang zuhe" [The Design and Statues Combination of Mrgadava Caves].  Zhongyuan Wenwu 2 (2011): 67-72.

 

More about referencing


If you need some more information on exactly why and when to reference, please see the following pages:

Academic Integrity at the University of Melbourne

Referencing Essentials: The What, Why, When and How of Referencing (pdf)

Using Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism (pdf)

 

Annotated Bibliographies

 

For information on how to prepare an annotate bibliography, these guides will assist you:

 

Asian Architectural Models database

 

 

Your Librarians

 

Get in touch with the librarians for more help:

Ayako Hatta

Japanese Studies Librarian

Baillieu Library

E a.hatta@unimelb.edu.au

T +61 3 8344 6350

 

Xiaoju Liu

Chinese Studies Librarian

Baillieu Library

E xiaoju.liu@unimelb.edu.au

T +61 3 8344 1525

Sophie Kollo

Liaison Librarian

Architecture Building and Planning Library

E s.kollo@unimelb.edu.au

T +61 3 9035 8766