Skip to main content

ABPL 90146 Architecture conservation in East Asia 2017: Japanese

Finding from the Library Catalogue

Use the Library Catalogue to find ebooks, journal titles, audio visual material and media resources and keep up to date with new material received by the Library.

Japanese language resources can also be found in the Library Catalogue by searching in Japanese characters or Rominazation, the Modified Hepburn Romanization System.

The following websites is the list of Modified Hepburn Romanization System and the cataloguing rules of Library of Congress:

Type in keywords or author or title in either Japanese characters or Romanization. The diacritics to indicate long vowel and syllabic nasal are displayed on screen. When typing keywords you can ignore the diacritics, it is not necessary to capitalise the proper noun.

Example of keywords> 

  • Architecture --   建築 --  kenchiku
  • Horyuji temple -- 法隆寺 -- Horyuji
  • World heritage -- 世界遺産 -- sekai isan

Example of subject headings>

  • Historic buildings -- Japan
  • Architecture -- Conservation and restoration -- Japan
  • Architecture -- Japan
  • Architecture, Domestic -- Japan
  • Cultural property -- Protection -- Japan
  • Castles -- Japan

Discovery

Use Discovery to search simultaneously across multiple databases including the Library catalogue, digital repository, ebook collections and journal databases. Discovery will link you to full text resources, ebooks and streaming using SourceIt@Melbourne.

Click on to access full text online. The link can look different depending where you are searching.

BONUS+ is a free service that allows all staff and students to request selected material from a range of participating libraries.  Click on to repeat the search in the BONUS+ catalogue.

Japanese Databases

Journals held in the Library

新建築  Shinkenchiku

日本の美術 Nihon no bijutsu

The Japan architect     UniMelb Archit P, Call number: JAPA

Reference and research materials held in the Library

日本美術全集 Nihon bijutsu zenshu

図説日本美術史 Zusetsu Nihon bijutsushi

日本美術作品レファレンス事典 建造物篇 Nihon bijutsu sakuhin refarensu jiten kenzobutsu-hen

建築文化財レファレンス事典 Kenchiku bunkazai refarensu jiten

Location and call number

English resources related to Japanese architecture are kept in Architecture, Building and Planning Library and Baillieu Library.

  • Dewey classification      720.952   Architecture in Japan

Japanese resources are kept in the East Asian Collection, on the 2nd level of the Eastern Resource Centre (ERC), and Japanese books have an "JPN" on the spine label shelved by its Classification.

The Collection is shelved by Library of Congress Classification and intershelved by Chinese and Japanese resources. Apart from this main collection, there is a folio section where all the big size books are kept, and also a reference collection. It is best to look for all these areas for finding Architecture resources.

  • Library of Congress Classification: Chinese and Japanese books are intershelved
  • NA  Architecture
  • f NA  Folio section is where all the big size books are kept.
  • REF NA  Architecture

Architecture, Building and Planning Library also holds resources in Japanese langauge.

Keywords for Architecture

Architecture: 建築 Cultural heritage: 文化遺産
Historical buildings: 歴史的建築物、歴史的建造物 National treasures: 国宝
Restoration: 復元、修復、修理

Important cultural properties: 重要文化財

Preservation: 保存、保護、維持 Intangible cultural heritage: 無形文化財
Projects: 事業 Tangible cultural heritage: 有形文化財
Data/reports: 資料、報告書 Pictures, photographs: 写真
Architectural design: 建築設計 Plans: 図面

 

Online dictionaries

Jisho : Powerful English/Japanese dictionary

Eijiro on the web : English/Japanese dictionary

Online encyclopedias

Japanese websites

  • Architectural Institute of Japan Digital Archive (日本建築学会図書館デジタルアーカイブス): Database covering two categories of publications: (1) those from before World War II through the postwar Showa Period to 1985, and (2) the Tatsuno and Tsumaki collections and the Journal of Manchurian Association for Architectural Science, which are valuable prewar documents owned by the AIJ Library. These publications are entirely converted into image data and recorded in PDF files for their preservation and disclosure for use in and out of AIJ.
  • Cultural Heritage Online database (文化遺産オンライン): Agency for Cultural Affairs presents a database for finding information of cultural heritage in Japan.
  • Restoration Archive (建造物修理アーカイブ): The Japanese Association for Conservation of Architectural Monuments introduces some of their unique restoration works with pictures and plans.
  • Comprehensive database of archaeological site reports in Japan (全国遺跡報告総覧):   Nara National Research Institute for Cultural Properties reports on excavation survey of buried cultural properties in Japan has been digitized for Internet browsing and searching.
  • e-Museum (e国宝): This site provides high definition images of national treasures and important cultural properties owned by four national museums (Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum and Kyushu National Museum) that belong to the National Institutes for Cultural Heritage, together with their descriptions in multiple languages (Japanese, English, French, Chinese and Korean).
  • Japan's Preservation Districts (全国伝統的建造物群保存地区協議会): Photos and descriptions of all precious Japanese cultural heritage such as villages and streetscapes of Preservation Districts for Groups of Historic Buildings.