Skip to main content

MULT90004 Sustainability Governance and Leadership

A research guide to support OEP students studying MULT90004

Find journal articles

At the end of this module you will be able to

  • recognise the difference between popular and scholarly journals
  • recognise the difference between primary and secondary sources
  • recognise what a database is and what it contains
  • know how to search Discovery and Web of Science

Understanding Primary & Secondary Sources. Imagine Easy Solutions. Added November 28 2016.

Journals (also known as Periodicals, Magazines or Serials) are publications that come out at regular intervals, for example weekly, monthly or yearly. They are a good way of finding up to date research on a topic.

Scholarly and non-scholarly journals

Some journals are more academic in content than others. It is important to recognise this difference when doing research. If a journal is 'peer-reviewed' it is usually more scholarly in focus. Peer review is a process where articles are evaluated by a group of experts in the appropriate field prior to publication.

Not sure what that means? Watch this video (1:45):

Common database features

There are lots of different databases with many different search interfaces.  However, they all run on the same principles, and have many things in common. For example, most databases offer the ability to:

  • Limit by date, language, format (reviews, conference proceedings).
  • Distinguish between scholarly and non-scholarly articles.
  • Allow you to print, save, email and export results.
  • Give you extra functionality (search alerts, keep search results) when you create a personal account.

 

What's a library database? | RMIT University
Duration: (1:57)
User:
rmitmedia - Added: 14/08/12
What Are Databases and Why You Need Them
Duration: (2:35)
User:
ycplibrary - Added: 30/09/11
 

What is Discovery?

While the catalogue is great for finding useful resources, it’s not the place to search for individual journal articles. For this, you can use Discovery.

Discovery combines the information from the Library Catalogue, the Digital Repository and many databases into a single search.

It includes access to many full text articles, both academic and non-academic.

How do I use Discovery?

You can search Discovery from the library homepage (you will need to login with your university username and password).

For more help go to the Discovery LibGuide.

Watch this introductory video on how to utilise Discovery.

Loading