Skip to main content

Managing References with LaTeX/BibTeX

This LibGuide is designed for University of Melbourne staff and students to instruct on the various methods of reference management within LaTeX documents. The basics of a LaTeX bibliography is explained with reference to more popular editors such as Shar

Zotero and Overleaf

Import references from Zotero into Overleaf

  • In overleaf, click the Project tab. A new column should appear (if not already on your screen) on the left hand side.

  • At the top of the new column should be a Files tab. Click on Files, then from the drop down list click on Bibliography.A new pop up screen will appear with 4 options; CiteULike, Zotero, Mendeley and a blank one for a generic .bib file.

  • Click on Zotero
  • A new pop up screen will appear asking you to Connect to your Zotero Account. Click this green box.
  • A new tab or window will open in your internet browser asking for your Zotero account email and password. You will need to have already created a Zotero account before you get to this step.
  • The page will refresh with the title New Private Key. Zotero requires permission from the user to allow Overleaf to access the data. A key description will automatically be generated; Overleaf. You can change this if required.
  • Press the Accept Defaults button.
  • Then you will be redirected back to your overleaf screen. A new pop up box will ask you to add a bibliography from Zotero. It requires you to name the file in your project. This can be any name. It does not have to match a Zotero folder name. In fact it doesn’t use a particular Zotero file, it will upload every reference from your entire Zotero program. 
  • A new pop up box will ask you to add a bibliography from Zotero. It requires you to name the file in your project. This can be any name and does not have to match a particular Zotero folder name. It doesn’t use a particular Zotero file, it will upload every reference from your entire Mendeley program.
  • Then click Add File
  • A new file will appear with the name you chose as a .bib extension in the files column next to your LaTeX file.

You can now cite directly into your main LaTeX document from your Zotero bibliography.

Adding references after initial Zotero Bibliography has been imported into Overleaf

  • If you find another reference after this import has taken place, simply enter the reference into your Zotero reference manager as usual.
  • Return to the zotero.bib file in Overleaf, click to open the .bib file, then at the bottom of the bibliography list should be a Green Refresh button.

  • Press the Refresh button and the bibliography will be updated.