Skip to main content

Diploma in General Studies

This guide provides links to resources that will assist students in their study.

Search Strategies

What's a library database? | RMIT University, Duration: (1:57)
User:
rmitmedia - Added: 14/08/12
, YouTube URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKIbnNLCh8g

Web of Science Quick Tour, Web of Science Training, added 7 February 2017.

Journals (also known as Periodicals, Magazines or Serials) are publications that come out at regular intervals, for example weekly, monthly or yearly. They are a good way of finding up to date research on a topic.

Scholarly and non-scholarly journals

Some journals are more academic in content than others. It is important to recognise this difference when doing research. If a journal is 'peer-reviewed' it is usually more scholarly in focus. Peer review is a process where articles are evaluated by a group of experts in the appropriate field prior to publication.

Not sure what that means? Watch this video (1:45):

What's a library database? | RMIT University

Duration: (1:57)
User:
rmitmedia - Added: 14/08/12
What is Discovery?

While the catalogue is great for finding useful resources, it’s not the place to search for individual journal articles. For this, you can use Discovery.

Discovery combines the information from the Library Catalogue, the Digital Repository and many databases into a single search. It includes access to many full text articles, both academic and non-academic.
How do I use Discovery? You can search Discovery from the library homepage (you will need to login with your university username and password). Discovery works a lot like Google. You put keywords from your topic into the search box and a list of results appears.

For more help go to the Discovery LibGuide and watch this introductory video on how to utilise Discovery.

Web of Science indexes a wide range of journal articles in the sciences, social sciences & humanities.

One of the benefits of a standalone database over Discovery is that you can link to citation counts by article: the number of times the article has been cited and the citations that the article referenced. Watch the video below to see this in more detail.

PLEASE NOTE: to access the full text of an article simply click on Full Text @ U of Melbourne 

Loading