Skip to main content

Accessing Law ebooks

A guide to finding and using legal ebooks and publisher platforms

ebook platform guide

Navigating to ebook platforms

If you know the platform you wish to search, you find it via Database search option on the A-Z eJournals and Databases link on the Library Catalogue page. 

Note, going directly to the ebook platform or publisher's page will not give access to the full text of the book. You must login with your University of Melbourne credentials. 

ebook platform feature comparison guide

Brill Online Cambridge Core CCH Online EBL
Edward Elgar Hart Bloomsbury Hart iG IBFD Tax Reserach Platform
Kluwer Arbitration      Making of Modern Law SpringerLink Taylor & Francis
   University Press Scholarship Online Wheeler's ePlatform      

Brill Online (also known as Martinus Nijhoff)

Contains International Law, Human Rights and Humanitarian Law. Books are in PDF format, a non-responsive design. Read publications in your browser, or if you wish to download you must download and install Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Usage:

  • Download for study purposes
  • Print for study purposes

Cambridge Core

A large collection of ebooks from Cambridge University Press across a broad range of legal topics. You can limit your search only to titles the University has access to as part of our subscription. Books are in PDF format, a non-responsive design. Read publications in your browser, or if you wish to download you must download and install Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Usage:

  • Print 1 chapter or 20%, whichever is greater, during a given 4 week period
  • Download 1 chapter or 20%, whichever is greater, during a given 4 week period
  • Send a copy of the PDF to your Kindle, GoogleDrive or Dropbox - see options on the bottom left of the results screen. To send to your Kindle device you must set up your Kindle Personal Documents Service.
  • Read across a maximum of 5 mobile devices 

CCH Online (Intelliconnect)

A wide range of legal resources including bankruptcy, family law, insolvency, business law, industrial relations, tax and trade practices. This platform contains material with a practitioner focus. Many CCH published textbooks are available on the Wheeler's Platform.

Usage: 

  • Download for study purposes
  • Print for study purposes
  • Download or email text or PDF versions
  • Save up to 50 documents in your document tray for later use, or create research folders to organise your documents

 

EBL (ProQuest Ebook Central)

A large collection of ebooks from academic publishers across a wide range of topics. Save books to your virtual bookshelf, and organise your collection into different folders. You can mark up books with bookmarks, notes and highlights, and search within texts for annotations you have made.

Usage:

  • Print for educational, research or personal use
  • Download for educational, research or personal use
  • Read in Chrome or Firefox browsers
  • Full text downloads are available to you for 21 days.

Edward Elgar

Hundreds of academic legal texts as well as politics and public policy, development and social policy. Chapters are in PDF format, a non-responsive design. Read publications in your browser, or if you wish to download you must download and install Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Create a personal account to save and tag items or create lists for future use. You can also create alerts for new content added to the platform. Note, your personal account does not grant you full access to material that the University hasn't purchased as part of their subscription package. 

Usage:

  • Print individual articles or chapters
  • Download individual articles or chapters

Hart Bloomsbury

Access to over one thousand legal Hart Publications from 2015 onwards. Covering a range of legal topics including European law, criminal law, legal history, contract law, legal philosophy and human rights. Save favourite items in your collection

Usage:

  • Print a single chapter, article or item
  • Download a single chapter, article or item in PDF format

Hart iG

Hart iG is hosts close to 2000 legal titles. You can read books online in your browser, which includes an in-browser translation option - although do not rely on this as official translation. 

You must create a personal account to check out a complete book for offline reading. You can use your google or facebook ID, or register with an email address. 

Usage:

  • Download not more than 10% or one chapter for study
  • Print not more than 10% or one chapter for study

IBFD Tax research platform

The International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation 

Usage:

  • Download individual articles or items for personal use
  • Download individual articles or items for personal use

Kluwer Arbitration

International Arbitration material including primary source materials (including ICC cases and awards) and an extensive range of expert commentary.

Usage:

  • Print for research or private study, no commercial use
  • Download for research or private study, no commercial use

Making of Modern Law

Is a group of platforms that specialise in detailed historical legal material. Gain access to scans of printed material, electronic table of contents and lists of illustrations. Bookmark pages by creating a 'mark list' and email yourself these citation details. 

It consists of: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, Foreign Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Trials 1600- 1926, Foreign Primary Sources 1600-1970, Primary Sources (US) 1620-1979 and US Supreme Court records and briefs 1832-1978

Usage:

  • Print for educational, research and personal use
  • Download for educational, research and personal use.

SpringerLink

Medical law, commercial law, civil law and International and Comparative law including a large collection of German language books. Download material in PDF or ePub format.

Usage:

  • Print for educational, research or personal use
  • Download for educational, research or personal use

Taylor & Francis

Hundred of law titles across a wide range of topics. Download DRM free PDF files, or read online with FileOpen (requires Flash player). DRM protected titles may not be available to read on mobile devices, however most titles are DRM free and available to download as a PDF file.

Usage:

University Press Scholarship Online

Aggregating content from University presses around the world including a large collection from Oxford University Press. This platform provides access to over 1500 Law titles. Restrict your search to unlocked, free or open access material to access full text material. Read plain text on the site or download PDF versions to save or print.

Usage: 

  • Print single articles, chapters or items
  • Download single articles, chapters or items

Wheeler's ePlatform

Combining access to titles published by CCH Australia, Lexis Nexis and Wolters Kluwer. Access ebooks on your android or iOS device, ereaders, or on Windows or Mac computers using Adobe Digital Editions. Further access information here.

You can highlight text and save comments on this platform that will remain in place for your future uses of the texts. 

Usage: 

  • Download for study purposes
  • Print for study purposes