CCND selects academic articles from over 500 publicly issued newspapers published in mainland China since 2000. Updated daily. The database contains the following subject collections: Literature/History/Philosophy -- Politics/Military/Law -- Economics -- Education/Society -- Science -- Love/Marriage/Family/Health.
The electronic version of the National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals was first created in 1993. Now, it has become a super index database covering information for over one and a half centuries from 1833 to the present. It lists about 40,000 kinds of newspapers and periodicals published in China. The database contains over 40 million entries, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.
The North-China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. As the official journal for British consular notifications, and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, it is the first, and sometimes only, point of reference for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities. Published in English, it also features translations of Chinese official notifications and news.
Factiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. It is a valuable research tool for many disciplines, including political science, media studies, business, technology studies, social science, journalism, the arts, and more. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries, in 26 languages – including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
News and Newspapers provides a single search interface to all newspaper collections within ProQuest: Australia & New Zealand Newsstand; Canadian Newsstand Complete; ProQuest Newsstand; ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Providing the latest news from the leading national (U.S.) and international news sources, Newspaper Source Plus contains over 1,000 leading full-text newspapers, providing users with access to millions of full-text articles. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features hundreds of thousands of television and radio news transcripts.
LexisNexis Academic provides quick, comprehensive access to legal, business, and news information. It offers quick, easy access to more than 10,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources available in a single location.
World News Connection contains foreign news reports, from over 500 news sources in 130 countries, translated into English by the US Government. The news sources include newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports. The U.S. Government discontinued daily updates for World News Connection on December 31 2013, as a result this database is now an archive covering November 1995-December 2013.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English and issued by an agency of the U.S. Government. The collection is supplemented by Annexes that were created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers. FBIS Daily Reports from Readex represent a unique resource for the study of foreign affairs, business, law, sociology, political science and more, as they cover all regions of the world.
The most widely read and referenced news source from the Soviet era is available online in full-text and full-image back to its inception in 1912. Researchers will be able to research the chief chronicle of Russian and Soviet history, from the beginnings of the Russian Revolution through World War II, the Cold War, the fall of the Soviet Union, and everything in between.