Skip to main content

MD Research Project Literature Searching Guide

Medical Databases

Medical Databases

Medical and Health Databases

Log on to these journal databases using your University of Melbourne username and password.

Medline (Ovid)

Medline contains citations and abstracts for more than 18,000,000 records from more than 5,500 biomedical and life sciences journals. Medline citation data are included on PubMed. Records are indexed using the Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) terms. Coverage from 1948 to present. NB: The Ovid format is designed for systematic searching and search building.

PubMed

PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This record provides access to the Univ of Melbourne customised version of PubMed which includes Find it @ UniMelb links to the Library's subscribed full text content.

CINAHL

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a resource designed for nursing and allied health professionals. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

PsycINFO (Ovid)

PsycINFO is an index of literature published in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines, including nursing, social work and pharmacology. Records are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index terms. PsycInfo contains more than 3.5 million records from nearly 2,500 journals.

EMBASE (Ovid)

The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE), produced by Elsevier, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the fields of drug research, pharmacology, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. Coverage from 1947 to present.

EMCARE (Ovid)

Emcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing and allied healthcare professions. Emcare includes unique content not found in other nursing and allied health databases and journals not covered by Embase.

EBMR (Ovid)

EBMR (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews) combines 7 evidence based medicine resources into a single, fully-searchable database:

3 from the Cochrane Collaboration (Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews); 3 from the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE); Health Technology Assessments; NHS Economic Evaluation Database) and the ACP Journal Club from the American College of Physicians.