Skip to main content

Staying Current: keeping up-to-date with research

Keep up-to-date with new research in your area with journal and book alerts, RSS Feeds, TOC Alerts and Conference Alerts.

New Library Material Lists

Use the "New Items & Lists" tab in the Library Catalogue to help you find new items in the University of Melbourne Library Collections.

Lists are divided in Dewey Categories:

Request a New Book

Send your book, media and other purchase recommendations to orders-library@unimelb.edu.au

Book Publishers

Bookwire makes it easier for people to discover, evaluate, order, and experience books. Powered by Bowker's Books in Print® database, Bookwire makes it easy to search and discover over 20 million book titles, including print, e-books, audio books and more.

Checking books in print

 

 

Global Books In Print (GBIP) is the world's largest, unbiased and web-based bibliographic resource. Find the title you’re looking for quickly and easily, using this comprehensive database of books, ebooks, audio books, and video titles. It has expanded search options which enable you to find recommendations based on books you have read, authors you like, and topics that interest you. Books in Print Global Edition includes publications from Australia, U.S.A., Canada, Europe and the U.K.

 

Book blogs and book reviews

Book Reviews can help identify books in a subject, published recently which could be worthwhile reading.

Steps to find book reviews

  1. Search Academic Search Complete (Ebscohost) - listed below
  2. Limit results by document type 'book reviews' and enter appropriate search terms/concepts in the search boxes
  3. The New York Times Book Review is indexed within Academic Search Complete and covers Literature & Literary Criticism. It includes reviews of fiction/non-fiction works.

Other databases may offer similar features or try finding Book Reviews on the Web from reputable sources.

Library Catalogue Alerts

Preferred Searches

From the Library Catalogue

Login to Patron record

  1. Run a search and click Save Search Button.
  2. To access your saved Search Click on the Preferred Searches from yourPatron Record 
  3. Preferred Searches can be viewed, launched, and deleted from your Patron Record.

Email Alerts

Email Alerts will send you information on new titles matching your Preferred Searches.

 Login to Patron record

  1. Click on Preferred Searches
  2. Tick the searches for which your wish to receive alerts
  3. Alerts are automatically sent to the email address in your Patron Record every Monday morning.

University of Melbourne Library blogs

 Keep Up to Date with the library blogs

OCLC WorldCat

WorldCat produced by the Online Computer Library Centre (OCLC) is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat contains more than 1.4 billion items contributed by over 10,000 libraries worldwide, including material dating from 1000 A.D. It is updated on a daily basis.

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.

Create lists of library items you'd like to keep track of or share with others.

 

Trove

TROVE is a discovery tool providing ease-of-use functionality to find material in various formats published or held in Australia and elsewhere

New national Australian Discovery Service, providing access to printed, electronic, pictorial, newspaper, research, map, music & archival material.

Trove was designed to:

  • provide a single point of access to the resources of the deep web

  • facilitate access to a significantly greater range of resources from major sources, including selected digitised material freely available online

  • support searching of, and access to, full-text content

  • enhance ease of discovery by providing improved relevance ranking, refinement by facets, FRBR-like grouping of related items (Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records) and exploitation of thesauri

  • engage with communities and individuals through annotation services

  • ensure that relevant information is not missed in a search by reducing the need to search material-specific discovery services separately

  • provide a platform for niche services to query a vast resource of Australian metadata and adapt if for their own needs.

What can I find here?

You can find information about resources collected by Australia's memory institutions, such as:

  • books, theses, reports, research articles, raw data sets, book chapters, conference proceedings as well as papers and records
  • maps and audio-visual materials including photographs, artworks, postcards, videos, musical sound, sheet music and sound recordings of interview
  • the full-text of major Australian newspapers, from 1803 to 1954
  • copies of selected Australian websites which may no longer be available online or in their original form
  • people and organisations

 

When you search Trove, each result may actually be a group of records. For example, all versions of "Possum Magic" by Mem Fox should be grouped together, so that only one appears in your results. When you click on this result, you will see a list of all the versions and editions in the group. This group can be referred to as a "work".

 

What am I searching?

Trove provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere.

Metadata (information about items) is pooled from Australian sources including:

and overseas sources including:

 

Text (the item itself) of