Skip to main content

Research impact for Education: a self-help guide

Minerva Access - University of Melbourne's Institutional Repository

What is Minerva Access?

Minerva Access is the University of Melbourne's Institutional Repository. It aims to collect, preserve, and showcase the intellectual output of staff and students of the University of Melbourne for a global audience. 

  • Minerva Access is indexed by Google Scholar, and other search engines, e.g.  National Library of Australia's Trove, and OAIster  
  • Minerva Access provides statistics on accessions by country/month
  • Minerva Access provides permanent URL for works even if you leave the university – use for CVs, grants
  • Minerva Access can provide research impact metrics (see example below)

Links

ORCID

 

Registering your ORCID is just the first step. To fully benefit from ORCID, you need to use your ID. To make effective use of ORCID, you can make 'trusted connections' between yourself and your professional activities and affiliations, which then let you benefit from easier information sharing, reduced manual entry in forms, and improved search and discovery in many research information databases, such as Minerva Elements.

It is easy: just sign into your ORCID account when an organization asks you to connect your iD and give them permission to update your record. For example, a journal can add information about your authored publications. You can also easily add information yourself to further enhance your record. Chat to your librarian if you need support.

Distinguish yourself - and be in control of how your work is represented - by using your ORCID iD!

Manage your list of publications - Reference managers

 

Researchers have a choice of reference managers they can use. The steps for Zotero is provided below. Any suitable reference manager can be used to maintain the same process of recording a list of publications.  Below this box follows a list of suitable reference management subject guides to consult. 

Zotero is a reference management system. It can be used to maintain and manage a list of your publications as you have them published. You can then do a couple of things with that list, such as upload your publications to Minerva Elements the publication management and reporting system. You can also upload a list of added publications to your ORCID profile periodically - if they are not linked with ORCID already via CrossRef, Scopus or Web of Science.

Zotero includes native support for .bib (BibTeXt format). This is the file format required when importing references manually to ORCID and is also used in Google Scholar. This makes Zotero a smart choice for researchers wishing to manage their publication list and managing their list of publications [works] in ORCID. In addition, it is a very intuitive reference manager - easily learnt by a broad range of researchers.

Even when you are already committed to another reference manager such as Endnote - it doesn't take much additional time or effort to create a Zotero library just for this purpose. If you get stuck you can even speak to your librarian.

 

Importing publications from Zotero to Minerva Elements

Export from Zotero

  1. Load Zotero onto your computer, following these instructions
    • Download both the desktop application and then create a Zotero account
    • Register for your own Zotero account, so it allows everything you create to be linked to your cloud account
    • Also get a browser connector, to enhance your ability to easily add additional publications using this functionality
  2. Create a Zotero collection specifically for your own publications and keep on adding the metadata (publication information) for each of your publications into this collection as they are published. You can then later drag these to 'My publications' for additional functionality.
  3. Once you are ready to export your publications for reporting purposes in Minerva Elements, click on the 'name of your publication' collection in the left tree folder, right click, and click 'export collection'. Make sure to select 'RIS' as the format to use. Take a note of the file location so you could easily locate the file later on.

Import to Minerva Elements

  1. Login to Minerva Elements
  2. At the Home 'menu', select 'Manage' publications, and import the saved .RIS file
  3. Upload and import the .RIS file as the "Reference Manager/Endnote" file type.
  4. Review the imported citations because the data may not be completely correct. A common problem is in the citation type; there may be confusion in records between book chapters and books, articles and conference proceedings, and so on.

Find further information in these reference management guides