Introduction
Welcome to the Chemistry Subject Research Guide
Your subject librarians have designed this guide to highlight online resources at the University of Melbourne Library that are relevant to Chemistry.
Library Services - COVID Update
Please check here for updates to libraries opening and collections access
Quick Start
5 things you can do to start your research:
Note: The buttons below will open resources in new windows.
eBooks
Chemistry eBook databases
- ACS Symposium Series eBooksThe ACS Symposium Series are the high-quality, peer-reviewed eBooks developed from ACS technical divisions' symposia. Each chapter is carefully authored by an expert in the field, and the collection of chapters edited by an internationally recognized leader in the field. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.
- CHEMnetBASECHEMnetBASE : Chemical Databases Online is a collection of chemistry databases, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Combined Chemical Dictionary, and other major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC Press.
- Royal Society of Chemistry eBooks (RSC)Online full text access to hundreds of the RSC's high-quality chemical science books, from Physical to Organic, Environmental to Biomolecular. The Library has access to titles published from 1968 onwards including the latest electronic releases.
- SpringerLink BooksSpringerLink contains journals, books, series, protocols and reference works all aimed at supporting the research and academic community across all disciplines. The Palgrave Connect ebook collections were integrated into the Springer eBook collections during 2016.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralEbook Central provides access to thousands of e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
- Taylor & Francis EbooksTaylor & Francis provide access to thousands of eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science from well known publishers such as Routledge, CRC Press, Chapman and Hall, Ashgate, Psychology Press, Longman and Heinemann. Content spans all levels within higher education, from students to researchers, including topic-defining handbooks and ground-breaking research monographs. Download chapters or the entire book as a convenient PDF or read online.
- Wiley Online Library BooksWiley Online Library is a collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities. It delivers access to journals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases from John Wiley & Sons and its imprints, including Wiley-Blackwell, Wiley-VCH, and Jossey-Bass.
Search for eBooks via the library catalogue, Discovery or specialist eBook databases
Browsing for Chemistry resources
Once you find a good book in the library catalogue, click on the subject links at the bottom of the record to find more items on that topic, e.g.
- Physical and theoretical chemistry
- Analytical Chemistry
- Inorganic chemistry
- Organic Chemistry
- Crystallography
- Organometallic Chemistry
- Electrochemistry
- Colloids
- Photochemistry
- Quantum Chemistry
- Nanochemistry
- Microchemistry
- Mineralogy
- Heterocyclic Chemistry
- Radiochemistry
- Acid-base Chemistry
- Atmospheric Chemistry
- Excited State Chemistry
- Nuclear Chemistry
Reading eBooks
Most of the ebooks provided by the library can simply be read online using a web browser and/or downloaded, by section or chapter, in PDF format.
To access, download, read, and print most ebooks from the library you simply need:
- A unimelb login and password.
- A device, such as a PC, laptop, or tablet, with access to the internet,
- An up-to-date web browser (find the latest versions of common browsers here), and
- A PDF reader, such as Adobe Reader.
Some ebook providers require you to check-out or borrow ebooks and use particular software, such as Adobe Digital Editions, to read their ebooks.
However, you will be prompted to do this when you try to access an ebook with special requirements and instructions will be provided.
Can't find what you want?
Why not try our Source online and print resources page
Inter-library Loans |
 |
|
|
|
University of Melbourne staff and students can request resources through the Library’s inter-library loans service. For more information visit the ILL web page, or you can access the request forms |
A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other Unis and TAFES. Visit the CAVAL website to find out how to sign up for a CAVAL card. You can then use the Trove website to see which library has the book you want.
|
Featured eBooks
Carbon allotropes : metal-complex chemistry, properties and applications by ISBN: 9783030035051Publication Date: 2019This book provides a detailed description of metal-complex functionalized carbon allotrope forms, including classic (such as graphite), rare (such as M- or T-carbon), and nanoforms (such as carbon nanotubes, nanodiamonds, etc.)
Commercial surfactants for remediation : mobilization of trace metals from estuarine sediment and bioavailability by ISBN: 9789811302213Publication Date: 2019This book demonstrates the benefits of using commercially available surfactants, or surface-active agents, for remediation of metal-contaminated soil and sediment.
Novel decavanadate compounds for lithium-ion batteries : en route towards a new class of high-performance energy materials by ISBN: 9783658289850Publication Date: 2020Simon Greiner investigates the molecular-level stabilization of polyoxovanadate (POV) compounds by rational design for the application as active cathode material in lithium-ion batteries.
Metal-organic framework : from design to applications by ISBN: 9783030473402Publication Date: 2020The series Topics in Current Chemistry Collections presents critical reviews from the journal Topics in Current Chemistry organized in topical volumes.
Colloidal nanoparticles for heterogeneous catalysis by ISBN: 9783030035501Publication Date: 2019This book explores the formation of colloidal gold–copper (AuCu) alloy nanoparticles and evaluate their application in heterogeneous catalysis.
Biological Inorganic Chemistry by ISBN: 9780128117422Publication Date: 2018Beginning with an overview of metals and selected nonmetals in biology, the book supports the interdisciplinary nature of this vibrant area of research by providing an introduction to basic coordination chemistry for biologists and structural and molecular biology for chemists.
Fast Facts
eReference access during the COVID-19 pandemic
During the Covid19 pandemic, a number of Publishers and Providers are giving free unlimited access to a range of online resources.
You can see the list at our Library Blog
Key eReference databases
Find a list of key databases below that give you access to online references works, such as encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other fast facts such as reference data, graphs, tables, equations, and material or chemical properties, etc.
To find further reference information you can search:
- CHEMnetBASECHEMnetBASE : Chemical Databases Online is a collection of chemistry databases, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Combined Chemical Dictionary, and other major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC Press.
- Reaxys (Elsevier)Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions, with chemical data, citations and abstracts as far back as 1823. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focussed and relevant information in chemistry. Reaxys incorporates three databases, Crossfire Beilstein (organic chemistry), Crossfire Gmelin (inorganic chemistry) and Patent Chemistry, to form a single, fully integrated chemical workflow solution.
- ExperimentsExperiments enables you to perform one search that spans all Springer Nature protocols and methods content – Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, SpringerProtocols and Protocol Exchange. Easily narrow down the most relevant results with the help of sophisticated search filters and other features.
- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized ExperimentsJoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research in JoVE Journal, and highly engaging scientific video demonstrations of essential laboratory techniques in the JoVE Science Education video database.
The Library has access to selected modules: JoVE Journal - Behavior, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Immunology & infection, Medicine, Neuroscience. JoVE Science Education - Basic Biology: General laboratory techniques, Basic Biology: Basic methods in cellular and molecular biology, Advanced Biology: Essentials of developmental biology. - Australian Inventory of Chemical SubstancesAICS is a database of more than 40,000 industrial chemicals that can be manufactured or imported (introduced) into Australia. The Inventory holds the chemical identity information and regulatory obligations associated with that chemical. It is maintained under the National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme (NICNAS).
- SpringerReferenceSpringerReference offers living editions of Springer's eReferences well in advance of their print editions. The articles within the reference works are constantly updated and peer reviewed. This collection covers a broad range of subjects: Behavioral science ; Biomedical and life sciences ; Business and economics ; Chemistry and material science ; Computer science ; Earth and environmental science ; Engineering ; Humanities, social sciences and law ; Mathematics and statistics ; Medicine ; Physics and Astronomy. The Library has access to selected titles only.
Chemistry eReference examples
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by ISBN: 9780367417246Publication Date: 2020Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts.
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technologyISBN: 0471238961Publication Date: 2000-The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by ISBN: 9783527306732Publication Date: 2003Ullmann's is a synonym for the world's most current and trustworthy knowledge in everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology..........you name it, Ullmann's has it - well over 800 articles on over 30 000 printed pages in 40 volumes.
Chemical Process and Design Handbook by ISBN: 9780071374330Publication Date: 2001-12-11Through analyzing the basic elements in all process design, this data book aims to allow the engineer to control chemical processes in order to yield the desired effects efficiently and economically. It emphasizes chemical conversions, the chemical reactions applied to industrial processing. Changes in existing technological or chemical processes as well as possible future improvements or changes to other more economic or more readily available feedstocks are also included.- The Combined Chemical DictionaryPublication Date: 2002-This is a structured database with information on chemical substances including descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical & biological properties of compounds; systematic & common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams & their associated connection tables. Online version contains information published in: Dictionary of organic compounds; Dictionary of natural Products; Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds; Dictionary of pharmacological agents; & Dictionary of analytical reagents
- Dekker encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnologyISBN: 9781351238175Publication Date: 2014This crosses disciplines to examine fundamental nano principles, theories, and methodologies, as well is the latest information on nano-relevant properties. It also covers advances in nanoscale engineering, newly developed simulation tools, and emerging computational methods
- Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistryISBN: 9780750308274Publication Date: 2001This explains important experimental & computational techniques, & describes modern endeavours.
Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistryISBN: 9780470862100Publication Date: 2012Covers the following subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology by ISBN: 9780080523583Publication Date: 2001Written by experts in their fields, it covers all of materials science and technology, focussing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena, Structural Phenomena, Fundamental Core Theory, Structural Materials, Polymers and Materials Chemistry & Functional Materials- International critical tables of numerical data, physics, chemistry, and technologyISBN: 9781591244912Publication Date: 2003Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those in chemistry, physics, and engineering
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyISBN: 9780191727641Publication Date: 2006-Fundamental & up-to-date information is provided, arranged under 17,000 headwords. Descriptions of around 2000 enzymes and proteins are given, with details of laws, constants and formulae
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook - 9th ed.ISBN: 9780071834094Publication Date: 2019Covers comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modelling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, etc- Polymers : a property databasePublication Date: 2000-Searches by polymer, properties, trade name, application, and more. Provides comprehensive browsable indexes covering the range of property information available. Provides tabulated displays of search results and polymer data as well as monomer data cross-referenced from the relevant polymers
- Yaws' critical property data for chemical engineers and chemists byISBN: 9781613449325Publication Date: 2012This database contains over 290,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5,000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances.
- Handbook of chemical processing equipment byISBN: 9781591241829Publication Date: 2000Provides descriptions of the working principles, intended applications, selection criteria, and fundamental design principles for equipment used throughout the process and allied chemical industries
General eReference
- Oxford ReferenceOxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing. The collection provides quality, up-to-date reference content at the click of a button. The University of Melbourne subscribes to selected titles from this large collection of materials.
- Oxford English DictionaryThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus OnlineThe Macquarie Dictionary Online is constantly updated with new words as they enter the Australian language. This online service gives you access to the latest edition of the Macquarie Dictionary and the latest edition of the Macquarie Thesaurus plus annual updates
Databases
Finding journals articles, conference proceedings & more
Discovery
- You can use Discovery to search across most of the journals and other content the library subscribes to.
- Access Discovery via the search box on the library homepage.
eJournals and Databases
- Conduct a more thorough and advanced search by searching individual databases or e-journals.
- From the library homepage click the A-Z eJournals and Databases link.
- Browse alphabetically or search by title.
You can access some key databases directly by clicking the links below:
Key multidisciplinary databases
- Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
- Google Scholar(With University of Melbourne authentication) Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- ProQuestThe ProQuest platform delivers a variety of full text databases and indexes covering a wide range of subject areas.
Key Chemistry databases
- SciFinder-nSciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder-n includes: MethodsNow Synthesis which contains more than 5 million fully described synthesis methods and procedures, giving you step-by-step instructions on how to make the compounds important to your research; PatentPak which allows you to search through millions of patents sourced from more than 30 patent offices and instantly locate the chemistry within; Formulations information; Retrosynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities; Additional structure/reaction editor.
- Reaxys (Elsevier)Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions, with chemical data, citations and abstracts as far back as 1823. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focussed and relevant information in chemistry. Reaxys incorporates three databases, Crossfire Beilstein (organic chemistry), Crossfire Gmelin (inorganic chemistry) and Patent Chemistry, to form a single, fully integrated chemical workflow solution.
For instructions on how to use Reaxys go to the Reaxys' Youtube channel here: http://go.unimelb.edu.au/hf7i - Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (RSC)The Royal Society of Chemistry is a scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact journals and books.
- Analytical Abstracts (RSC Publishing)Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is the premier current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Search the worldwide analytical literature conveniently and rapidly, covering the period from 1980 until the latest update.
- ACS JournalsThe Publications Division of the American Chemical Society strives to provide its members and the worldwide scientific community a comprehensive collection, in any medium, of high quality information products and services that advance the practice of the chemical and related sciences.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) MobileACS Mobile provides readers with a searchable, multi-journal, up-to-the-minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research content (Articles ASAP) published across the Society's preeminent portfolio of scholarly research journals, including the flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society. Available for iOs and Android.
- chemRxivChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication.
- CSIRO Publishing JournalsCSIRO PUBLISHING publishes journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
Video: Basics of database searching
Basics of database searching from unilibrary on Vimeo.
eJournals
Browzine e-Journals
Click on the buttons below to view a selection of online Science and Engineering eJournals that the Library subscribes to (these will open in a new window). For a complete list of eJournals please visit our A-Z eJournals page.
More information on e-Journals
The databases below provide further information on e-Journals, such as:
- Whether a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed.
- Whether the journal/publisher is suspected to be predatory.
- Which databases the journal is indexed in.
- Acceptance rates, and the typical time taken to review and publish papers.
- Metrics, such as the journal impact factor (JIF) and ranking within subject areas.
- UlrichsWeb : global serials directory (ProQuest)UlrichsWeb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
- Cabell's Scholarly AnalyticsCabell's consists of two databases - Journalytics and Predatory Reports. Journalytics: explore more than 11,000 qualified academic journals within 18 disciplines to discover the perfect outlet for your research. Filter your results using advanced search options and suite of citation-backed metrics. Predatory Reports: in response to the growing number of predatory publishers, this resource aims to shine a light on the deceptive practices that threaten to undermine quality research.
- Serials Directory (EBSCOhost)This database provides accurate bibliographic information, as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. The Serials Directory contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, journals and magazines. With data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet address, language, publication frequency, ISSN, Library of Congress, Dewey Decimal Classification, and more.
- InCites - Journal Citation ReportsThe Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from thousands of publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Search Engines
Search Engines & Digital Repositories
You can use Google Scholar and the other search engines and repositories below to search for scholarly content and then access the full-text via the library, rather than having to purchase content:
Turn on “Find It @ Unimelb” links when browsing Google Scholar at home.
Use the Lean Library or LibKey Nomad browser extension to access full-text online resources in your browser without going through the library website or Discovery.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
- Google: Advanced SearchUse the more advanced features of Google Web Search.
- Duck Duck GoDuckDuckGo is an internet search engine that distinguishes itself from other search engines by not profiling its users and by showing all users the same search results for a given search term.
- The University of Melbourne's Institutional Repository : Minerva AccessMinerva Access is the University's Institutional Repository. It aims to collect, preserve, and showcase the intellectual output of staff and students of the University of Melbourne for a global audience.
- Digital Collections (University of Melbourne)Digital Collections of the University of Melbourne Library. The collections include resources from individual items required for course delivery to large collections that are of a cultural or scholarly significance.
- TroveThe search engine of the National Library of Australia. Allows you to search Australian state, university and local library catalogues at once.
- OCLC WorldCatMeta search engine for online catalogs of libraries all over the world. Search for any book using a geographic location for the closest sources. The search also includes OAIster a catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources.
- arXivarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
News
Key News sources
Find below a list of useful databases for finding newspaper and magazine articles, television news broadcasts and broadcast transcripts:
- News and Newspapers (ProQuest)News and Newspapers provides a single search interface to all newspaper collections within ProQuest: Australia & New Zealand Newsstream; Canadian Newsstream; Global Breaking Newswires; International Newsstream; ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Gale OneFile: NewsProvides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, global newspapers, and thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Includes over 300 Australian newspapers.
- FactivaFactiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. It is a valuable research tool for many disciplines, including political science, media studies, business, technology studies, social science, journalism, the arts, and more. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries, in 26 languages – including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides quick comprehensive access to legal, business news, market insight, biographies and public records in a single location.
- TVNews (Informit)TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Key titles include: Australian Story, Catalyst, Current Affair, Dateline, Foreign Correspondent, Four Corners, Insiders, Insight, Landline, Lateline, Meet the Press, Q and A, Today Tonight, World News Australia, and many more. Coverage commences with September 2007 and is updated daily.
Looking for more news and newspapers?
Standards
Standards
Standards are documents setting out specifications, procedures and guidelines. They are designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistent. They are based on industrial, scientific and consumer experience and are regularly reviewed to ensure they keep pace with new technologies.
Standards cover everything from consumer products and services, construction, engineering, business, information technology, human services to energy and water utilities, the environment and much more.
Key standards databases are listed below, for more information on standards, and how to search for them refer to the Standards Library Guide
Standards Databases
- Intertek Inform This link opens in a new window
A web-based service that provides access to the full collection of Australian Standards, plus optional access to international Standards from ISO, IEC, EN, ETSI, NSAI, JSA, and a searchable index of standards from ANSI, BSI, DIN and ASTM.
- IHS Engineering WorkbenchIHS provides online access to the Annual Book of ASTM Standards which is made up of over 80 volumes and more than 12,000 standards.
Looking for Standards?
Patents
Patents
A patent is an exclusive right that is granted by a government to an inventor for any device, substance, method or process that is new, inventive and useful. It also provides a legal right for the inventor or creator to commercially exploit the invention for the life of the patent.
Looking for Patents?
Espacenet
- Espacenet patent searchEspacenet offers free access to more than 90 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today. The worldwide database contains information on published patent applications and granted patents from over 90 patent-granting authorities.
This video gives a brief introduction to Espacenet and how it can be used.
More Patents
- The LensThe Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. The patent searching capability allows use of advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options.
- Google PatentsGoogle Patents includes over 87 million patent publications from 17 patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books.
- PatentScope : World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).
- Australian Patent searchAusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
- USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark OfficePatents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
- SciFinder-nSciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder-n includes: MethodsNow Synthesis which contains more than 5 million fully described synthesis methods and procedures, giving you step-by-step instructions on how to make the compounds important to your research; PatentPak which allows you to search through millions of patents sourced from more than 30 patent offices and instantly locate the chemistry within; Formulations information; Retrosynthesis Planner with predictive capabilities; Additional structure/reaction editor.
Company & Industry Information
Company, Industry & Country Information
- IBISWorldIBISWorld offers Australia’s most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research. The Library has access to selected collections within IBISWorld: Australia Company Reports, Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC), Australia Specialized Industry Reports, China Industry Reports.
- MarketLine AdvantageMarketLine Advantage is an interactive platform providing access to a unique mix of company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. From Aerospace and Automotive to Media, Mining and Textiles, MarketLine covers every major industry in every major marketplace, worldwide.
- Fitch ConnectFitch Connect is a credit risk and macro intelligence platform from Fitch Solutions providing credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, Financial Implied Ratings and a curated news service.
- OrbisOrbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide. You can use it to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles, to analyse a group of companies and to export relevant company data into another package.
- HooversHoovers delivers comprehensive insight and analysis about the companies, industries and people that drive the economy, along with the powerful tools to find and connect to the right people to get business done.
Looking for more information on Companies, Industries or Countries?
Theses
Looking for theses?
Referencing and Citing
Need help with referencing?
Learn how reference management software can help you with referencing:
Need help with referencing specialist scientific software?
Research Skills
Developing research skills
The library provides support and services for students and researchers completing more in-depth research for a major project or thesis:
- Book a research consultationUniversity staff and graduate students can request an online individual research consultation via Zoom with a subject specialist Liaison Librarian. A consultation typically lasts for one hour, and can cover topics such as finding resources, searching effectively, literature reviews (narrative, scoping or systematic), managing information and data, referencing/citation styles, reference management software, researcher profiles, tools to assist with publishing decisions, and tracking citations.
- Researcher@LibrarySupporting you through the research process.
The University Library offers high quality resources and services that support our researchers and graduate students through the complete research lifecycle. We can help maximise your research outcomes. - Research Essentials GuideLevel up your researching, reading and writing skills with these essential tips.
- Literature ReviewsAn introduction to researching and writing a literature review as well as resources to help you get started.
- Scholarly PublishingA guide to publishing strategically.
- Researcher Profiles, Identifiers and Social Networks: Maximise your ImpactTips on how to promote your research and profile as a researcher.
- Research ImpactTools and support to assist with measuring research.
- Research Data Services DirectoryExplore the data-focussed resources available to you as a researcher at the University.
This is a collection of services and tools which can help you work with and manage your data. - Research Data ManagementResponsible management of your data will make your research easier and more impactful. Resources on this page will help improve your research data management skills.
- Research Impact Library Advisory Service (RILAS)The University Library can assist academic staff to determine the impact of their publications and other research outputs for grant and promotion applications.
Systematic reviews
Systematic reviews
Libraries
Baillieu Library
The Baillieu Library is the University's largest discipline library and is central to teaching, learning and research in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
ERC (Parkville)
The Eastern Resource Centre (ERC) forms part of the Eastern Precinct Science Student Centre, supporting the Faculty of Science and The Melbourne School of Engineering, and also houses the East Asian Collection.
The ERC is part of the New Student Precinct Project.
Brownless Biomedical Library (Parkville)
The Brownless Biomedical Library houses an extensive collection of print resources in areas such as botany, biology, genetics, medicine, psychology and behavioural science, veterinary science and zoology. Items in this collection are available for 28 day loan. The basement of The Brownless Biomedical Library houses special and stacks collections, as well as a wide range of print journals.
Burnley
The Science Library in Burnley resources teaching and research through the specialist collections for horticulture and the plants sciences. It provides user-focused services and an inviting environment for student collaboration and study. The Library serves students of horticulture and research students and staff from the School of Ecosystem and Forest Science. The collections' interdisciplinary nature provides a valued resource for programs across the University of Melbourne.
Creswick
The Science Creswick Library is at the Creswick Campus and supports the School of Ecosystem and Forest Science and the wider University community. Its collections cover the areas of forest and plantation hydrology; community forestry; fire ecology and management; forest industries and wood products; forests climate change and greenhouse research; native forest ecology and restoration; tree developmental biology and forest biotechnology; tree ecophysiology; tree plantations and health.
Want to know about other libraries?
Contact Us
Book an online Zoom Research Consultation
Would you like help with expert searching?
Do you want assistance with managing your data or understanding how to maximise your research’s impact?
Is reference management your weak spot?
Librarians can help.
Researchers and graduate research students are eligible for a one-on-one 1-hour online Zoom consultation with one of our subject specialist librarians.
Contact the Science and Engineering Library Team
You can contact the Science and Engineering Library team directly:
SciEng-librarians@unimelb.edu.au
Ask a question on Library Chat
