Skip to main content

Concepts of Childhood

Supporting the use of scholarly information for the breadth subject, EDUC20064 Concepts of Childhood..

Welcome to the Concepts of Childhood guide

Welcome to the guide for the subject, Concepts of Childhood.

This page offers a small selection of unique resources and connects you to a range of existing guides.

You can navigate to the other relevant guides, using the internal tabs at the top of the guide.

 

smiling child

   Little Girl, Playing Outside by Attila Magyar used under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Books and ebooks

These search strategies will lead you to resources to support your understanding of the concepts of childhood.

Some of the search terms may be useful for including in search statements for finding journal articles.

Subject searches

Children -- Research.

Children's rights -- History.

Identity (Psychology) in children

Children -- Social conditions.

Children and adults.

Keyword searches

"concepts of childhood"

childhood identity AND construct*

"childhood studies"

Oxford Bibliographies - Childhood Studies offers a range of individual Bibliographies on topics which examine modern and historical conceptions of Childhood, each annotated bibliography includes a range of articles addressing themes and topics.

A selection of topics

Loading ...

Discovery Search - a good first start for finding articles

Discovery Search

Use Discovery to search across the: Library CatalogueDigital Repository and many databases, all at once. 

You can also access Discovery via the library homepage.

Doing in-depth research? Also try databases listed in this guide.

Further databases for locating journal articles

Discovery Search is a great place to start your searches for journal articles. If your topic isn't covered well in Discovery you may need to repeat your search in some of these specialist databases.

  • Hover your mouse over the title, to learn more about the database.

For some topics you may find these database lists more relevant:

Google Scholar

 Access:  Advanced Scholar Search


How to access articles for free from the Library when you are searching Google Scholar 

If you are searching from home or somewhere other than a computer at the campus, you need to set preferences in Google Scholar to activate access to full text for free via the Library.

Follow these steps to make the Find it @ UniMelb links visible in Google Scholar.

  1.     Go to Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com

  2.     Select the menu button in the top left corner of the page

  3.     Select the Settings option in the menu.

  4.     On the next screen, select the Library links option on the left.

  5.     Type, University of Melbourne Library in the search box > then select the search button.

  6.    Tick the checkbox next to the option: University of Melbourne Library - Find It@UniMelb

  7.     Select the Save button (Cookies must be enabled for your browser to remember your settings for future use)

The Find it @ UniMelb links will now appear in Google Scholar search results - use these to connect to the full-text

Ask a Librarian

Ask a question via online chat