This is the "Home" page of the "New in Business and Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New in Business and Economics  

An overview of what's new in Business and Economics at the Giblin Eunson Library
Last Updated: May 13, 2013 URL: http://unimelb.libguides.com/content.php?pid=398482 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured resource

Doing Business in Asia

Find Information on the business rules, regulations, laws and practices in 14 Asian countries by CCH, online.

 

RSS Feeds & Alerts

Sign up for MarketLine Twitter updates. This is a great way for a lecturer or student with a particular area of research to get regular updates on Marketline’s new reports as they are uploaded.

@ML_Metals&Mining
@Marketline_Tech&Tele
@Marketline_Rtl  (for all things Retail)
@Marketline_FS  (for Financial services
)

 Go to the database Marketline Advantage.
 

 

Featured Databases

BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL

We have a new subscription to Business Monitor International, a premium database for business information. The database includes detailed analysis on 23 leading industry sectors, forecasts and analysis on political risk, economic performance and outlook for over 180 countries. Company profiles include SWOT analysis and company strategy. In addition, some industries include Key Projects data:

  • Infrastructure
  • Mining
  • Oil and Gas
  • Power
  • Renewables

NEW - BoardRoom - Connect4

BoardRoom is a database of Directors and Senior Executives of ASX listed companies. It is a tool for researching and staying up to date with remuneration trends for directors and executives alike. (Recommended browsers are Internet Explorer or Firefox)

DatAnalysis PREMIUM

DatAnalysis and FinAnalyis have been combined and are now called DatAnalysis Premium. Provides information on all ASX listed Australian companies.

IBISWorld

China Industry Reports

A collection of 200 industry reports highlighting the state of the industry within China, including its current performance, product and service segmentation, cost structure, related industries, future outlook and major players. 

 

 

New Books in print - a selection

Cover Art
Conflict and Harmony - Liu Zhibiao; Zheng Jianghuai
Call Number: 338.9512 LIU
ISBN: 9814298794
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Private Sectors Role in Poverty Reduction in Asia - Scott A. Hipsher
Call Number: 330.95 HIPS
ISBN: 0857094483
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Poorer Nations - Vijay Prashad
Call Number: 330.91724 PRAS
ISBN: 1844679527
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Physics of Wall Street - James Owen Weatherall
Call Number: 332.63209973 WEAT
ISBN: 0547317271
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Future of South-South Economic Relations - Adil Najam (Editor); Rachel Thrasher (Editor)
Call Number: 337.091724 FUTU
ISBN: 178032393X
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Making of Global Capitalism - Sam Gindin; Leo Panitch
Call Number: 330.1220973 GIND
ISBN: 1844677427
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Economic and Environmental Sustainability of Dual Sourcing - Heidrun Rosic
Call Number: 658.7 ROSI
ISBN: 3631622724
Publication Date: 2012


Cover Art
Multilateral Banks and the Development Process - Vinod Thomas; Xubei Luo
Call Number: 332.153091724 THOM
ISBN: 1412847672
Publication Date: 2012


 

Staff profile

Meet the new Liaison Librarian, Business & Economics (Research Support) 

Satu Alakangas

My library experience includes law libraries that have a strong emphasis on legal and business research. If you would like help with your research projects I am able to assist in finding information from a variety of databases (generic, business and law). I am also available for one-on-one business database training sessions and group workshops for your classes. 

My current focus is on bibliometrics and I can assist with finding your citation counts, journal impact rankings and h-index. If you would like help with a grant application, please contact me. I can provide you a full report or show you how to create a report yourself.

Email satu.alakangas@unimelb.edu.au, call 9035 7867, or arrange a research consultation.

 

Free on the Web

edie.net

Edie (Environmental Data Interactive Exchange) is the online resource for professionals responsible for the sustainability of their company or organisation. Edie provides practical information, in-depth yet accessible news, informative videos and a wealth of networking and communications channels.

Closing the loop: risk or reward?

A White Paper highlighting the opportunities and challenges of a circular economy.
The evolutionary state of play within business and the waste management supply chain is charted in this exclusive White Paper, sponsored by FCC Environment.

Australian

Innovation

System

Report

2012

The Australian Innovation System Report is an annual series of reports, starting in 2010, on the performance of Australia’s national innovation system.  The Report is a commitment by the Australian Government in Powering Ideas: An Innovation Agenda for the 21st Century to produce an annual report on innovation.

The Open Economics Working Group exists to:

  • Act as a central point of reference and support for those interested in open economic data.
  • Identify best practice as well as legal, regulatory and technical standards for open economic data.
  • Act as a hub for the development and maintenance of low-cost, community-driven projects related to open material in economics

The Clean Energy Plan & Australia's Industries

(free download from IBISWorld)

June 2012. The introduction of the carbon tax is the most significant step taken by the Australian Government to transition to a low-carbon future and will affect the nation’s industries in different ways.

New Economy Web Guide 2013 Under Obama

The New Economy Web Guide 2013 Under Obama represents the latest world wide web resources for discovering new knowledge and understanding the latest happenings with regards to the New Economy. The world is rapidly changing as transparency, new data and the ability to access data from new and now accessible databases becomes a reality. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip