A LibGuide for Earth Sciences' students and staff
This LibGuide contains:
- Information on the Eastern Resource Centre: The collection, how to borrow, opening hours, photocopying/printing, and computer information.
- Electronic Resources: Links to the main databases used by earth sciences and guides on how to use them.
- New Books: List and information on the latest arrivals in the library.
- Reference: List and information on dictionaries and encyclopedias relevant to earth sciences. Links provided to online editions.
- Journals: List and links to the major earth sciences journals.
- Earth Sciences Theses: Information on how to obtain earth sciences theses from the University of Melbourne, and other universities.
- Websites: List and links to most used websites relevant to earth sciences.
- Citing style for earth sciences: Information on how to cite and reference appropriately for earth sciences assignments and theses.
- Honours/Masters Page: Information relevant to honours/masters students
- Map Resources: Link to the Maps LibGuide. Links and information on maps and mapping.
- Discovery Tutorials: Videos explaining how to use the Discovery database.
Eastern Resource Centre
Earth Sciences material is located at the Eastern Resource Centre (ERC), part of the Eastern Precinct Science Student Centre Located on the east side of the campus (close to Grattan St & Swanston St) (Building 171).
ERC Home Page: http://www.library.unimelb.edu.au/libraries/erc
The Earth Sciences Library holds resources, including books, journals, cd-roms, theses and electronic databases on the following subjects:
- Other related subjects
- Books are arranged in a number sequence using the Dewey Decimal Classification Scheme. Large-sized books are marked “f” for folio in the catalogue and on their spines and are shelved separately after the normal-sized books.
- Extremely large books are known as Elephant folios and are located
- Items awaiting reshelving are located on the reshelving shelves.
- New books are listed on this guide under the 'New Books' tag.
- Print journals (also known as magazines, serials or periodicals) are arranged alphabetically by title. The call number for each journal is the first 4 letters of its title.
- The latest five years of Earth Science print journals are located on the fourth floor of the ERC.
- Journal volumes older than five years can be requested at the desk (if they have a 'ask at desk' status) or can be requested online.
- Online journals are now available in full text electronically and can be accessed via Discovery through the Library Home Page - http://library.unimelb.edu.au/
- Printing is also available in the library to print out copies of electronic journal articles.
- Journals may be borrowed by University of Melbourne higher degree students (honours and postgraduates) or staff for 2 days. Alternatively they can be read or photocopied in the library.
- For any inquiries about theses please contact the School of Earth Sciences.
- The Reserve Section contains material on reading lists or in high demand and is located on the third floor of the ERC.
- These items can be borrowed only by University of Melbourne students and staff.
- Reserve material can be borrowed for 2 hours for use in the Library. Make sure that you return all items on time.
- Exam papers are available electronically at:
- Earlier exam papers are available on microfilm, Baillieu Library lower ground floor, location Baill MIC M517.
- Includes dictionaries, encyclopaedias, atlases, indexes, abstracts and other basic reference tools. You can search for the most popular reference material by clicking on the 'reference' tag on this LibGuide.
- Reference material is only available for use in the library.
- The Reference Collection is located on the third floor of the ERC.
- Many reference books are also available electronically. Click on the 'Reference' tab of this guide for further information.
The library provides access to a number of different electronic resources including full-text journals, journal indexes, databases, CD-ROMs etc. Electronic resources can be accessed across all the branch libraries or from your home or office.
Access to electronic resources outside libraries is limited to current University of Melbourne staff and students.
- Some of the databases the library provides access to include:
- Atmospheric Science Collection (ASC)
- Web of Science
- Current Contents Connect
- Groundwater and Soil Contamination