Skip to main content

Education Collections and Services

This guide will introduce you to the services, facilities and resources available to students and academic staff.

Library Support for MGSE teaching

 

  • What is Readings Online?
    Readings Online provides access to online reading lists for your subject in the Learning Management System (LMS) and manages copyright compliance e.g. journal articles, book sections, conference papers, images, etc. 

Readings Online self-service options - generate access to copyright compliant content for your reading lists within LMS subjects. Options include: exporting saved search results from Discovery to add them to a Readings Online Collection; or using citations generated through Endnote, Mendley, Refworks, and Zotero to add multiple readings.
See http://readings-online.unimelb.edu.au/ for more information

  • What do I need to do to make the materials I personally add to the LMS copyright compliant?
    See http://www.unimelb.edu.au/copyright/teaching.html

     
  • Who do I contact to make prescribed books available in the high use collection?
    Contact
    Kat Frame
  • Who do I contact for general purchase recommendations?
    Contact Kat Frame

     
  • Who should I should I share my reading lists with so you can purchase extra copies?
    Contact Kat Frame
  • How can I create a link to a book chapter within a ProQuest ebook for a subject reading?
    See instruction guide below

Information for subject coordinators - checking and adding Library Toolkit links in the LMS

  • As part of your pre-semester LMS preparations, we ask you to help us to maintain links to the Library guides for individual program in the LMS by checking there is a Library Toolkit link in your subject navigation menu and it is opening the correct guide for the course. 

  • Setting the link to the correct guide is a manual process. If the subject has been newly created from the generic subject template you will need to add the link. This task will take you between 30 seconds and 5 minutes to select a relevant guide and create the link..

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THE LIBRARY TOOLKIT LINK?
  • To directly link students to the Library guide designed to support their course, giving them quick access to the most relevant search tools for finding literature for their assessment tasks, as well as targeted support from the Education Library team for navigating search tools and referencing in APA 6 style. 
  • When we meet with students or they attend a Library workshop, they are introduced to using the Library toolkit link to access relevant resources for their subjects.
 

CHECKING AN EXISTING LINK

1.     Check your subject includes a Library toolkit link in the left side navigation menu. No link? Follow the instructions for Adding a link

2.     Test the link to establish it is working and is connecting to the most relevant resources for the course. It may be directing students to a very general guide, called Education Collections and Services. We encourage you to update this to a course or learning area guide.

3.     Select a relevant guide from the list of Education guides http://unimelb.libguides.com/education/guides Copy the url for the preferred guide.

4.     Update the url for the web link. See page 1 of the following LMS guide for instructions http://www.lms.unimelb.edu.au/user_guides/externallink_guide.pdf

ADDING THE LINK 

1.     If the subject was created from the generic new subject template there won't be Library Toolkit link in the site navigation menu. You can add the link yourself or contact Kat Frame to have the link added for you.

2.     Select the most relevant guide from the list of Education guides http://unimelb.libguides.com/education/guides 

3.     Copy the url for the preferred guide eg Master of Education http://unimelb.libguides.com/master-education

4.     Add the web link to the subject menu. We reequest you name it Library Toolkit to ensure students have a consistent experience within the LMS for every subject. See page 1 of the following LMS guide for instructions for creating links http://www.lms.unimelb.edu.au/user_guides/externallink_guide.pdf

Contact Kat Frame if you have any questions, or you would like us to add Toolkit links on your behalf.

Readings Online support for academic staff 
We can help you get ready for Semester

Preparing for teaching in Semester 1? The Readings Online service at the Library is can support subjects in many ways:

  1. Throughout February, Readings Online is running workshops designed for all staff. Register today and bring your questions to these face-to-face hands-on sessions: read about the sessions.
  2. If you have a list of resources you want to make available through the LMS, contact us as soon as possible so that we can make your reading list (or follow our guides): contact us
  3. If you have used the Readings Online tool previously, now is the time to review and roll over your readings. See the Rolling over or Removing readings in Readings Online (PDF) for guidance and contact us if you need further assistance.

    Email the Readings online team reading-online@unimelb.edu.au or contact Kat if you have any questions.
students taking notes in a lectureScholarly Information Skills
  • We offer customised workshops and presentations to support students to develop the skills to navigate search tools to locate scholarly information. Learning resources can also be created to integrate into workshop tasks, and to support blended or online learning. We can develop content to be delivered by tutors, or support you to deliver the content yourself.
  • View the Scholarly Literacy Framework learn about the core capabilities. The Framework can be used to
    • map learning outcomes over the life of a course
    • inform the development of learning activities and assessment tasks
    • identify opportunities for incorporating new technologies within the curriculum
    • identify elements to integrate within marking rubrics
    • engage students with reflection on their own scholarly literacy skills
  • Our programs are diverse and flexible and offered at the point of need, this includes: 1st semester whole of cohort support; addressing the requirements for individual assessment tasks; and integrated support in capstone programs.
  • Our knowledge of digital landscapes and learning tools is broad and includes: learning tools such as blogs and wikis; moderating discussion forums; using social media to develop personal learning networks; the LMS; apps and mobile learning; supporting MOOCS; and the creation of learning objects using a diverse range of tools.
  • We offer professional development training for teaching teams and research assistants.

Collections and content

  • We provide required texts and recommended readings in a variety of formats. 
  • Select new materials, including journals and ebooks and streamed media.
  • Source material to support new courses, changes to curriculum and initiatives to develop online learning.

Examples of support resources for individual subjects, projects and online initiatives. 

Contact us to discuss how we can support your teaching.
Loading ...

Working with the Library - scholarly resources and learning and teaching

  1. Ensure there is a Library Toolkit link in your subjects within the LMS and it is linked to the most appropriate Library Guide See instructions here

  2. When you introduce an assessment task, encourage students to use the Library toolkit link to access the relevant resources and search tools for the assessment task.

  3. Provide feedback about our library guides so they support subject and assessment objectives . Explore the List of guides for Education

  4. Share the subject outline and the assessment tasks so that we can develop customised learning resources. 

  5. Ask us about how we have embedded progressive scholarly literacy skill development opportunities at key stages within MGSE courses. We have a range of examples we can share with you.

  6. Recommend new items for our collections, whenever you can.

  7. Use the library catalogue and our search tools to locate new resources to support your teaching. We are constantly buying new material, do you know what we have?

  8. Let us know about new prescribed and recommended reading as you plan the changes, so we can purchase titles and avoid rushes on items.

  9. Tell your students about the Giblin Eunson Library We offer support, high quality study spaces and collections. For Master of Teaching candidates, the extensive curriculum collections resources are worth exploring.

Featured Resources

Rodrigues, S. (Ed.) (2014). Handbook for teacher educators : transfer, translate or transform. Rotterdam Boston Sense Publishers Online and in print Call number UniM Giblin Eunson 370.711 HAND

Murray, J & Kosnik, C.M, (Eds.) (2014). Academic work and identities in teacher education. London Routledge. Call number UniM Giblin Eunson 370.711 ACAD

Burgstahler, S. & Cory, R. (2008). Universal design in higher education : from principles to practice. Harvard Education Press, Cambridge, MA Call number UniM Giblin Eunson 71.9115 UNIV

Find It Fast

Giblin Eunson Library

Ground floor
General collection: 001 - 332
High Use Collection
Reference books
Print journals

Upper ground floor
General collection: 333 - 379 

Level 1
General collection: 380 - 999
Education Curriculum Resources
Media Resources