About EndNote
EndNote is software that :
-
keeps records including details of books, book chapters, journal articles, websites, conference papers and theses.
-
organizes records in groups and allows you to add keywords, labels and notes
-
creates and formats reference lists in a selected style in Microsoft Word or Open Office Writer documents. Use styles such as APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA and Vancouver.
-
gets articles for you (PDF files)
-
saves records from search engines and databases
-
searches library catalogues and resources like PubMed to find items
EndNote Library Features
EndNote can make managing a reference list and collecting articles a fairly simple task. It reduces the need to re-type information repeatedly, saving time and minimising errors.
It has many reference types which can be changed to suit your requirements. A library file can store an unlimited number of references. They can be edited, searched and sorted in many ways.
References can be added by typing in relevant details or they can be retrieved from the catalogue, Discovery and other sources such as ISI Web of Science and Academic Source Premier.
Files can be attached to your references. Usually a single PDF file is all that you will need but you can attach up to 45 files per reference.
EndNote can also search the web, locate an article in PDF format and attach it to a reference based on the information in the reference alone, even when you need to connect through Discovery to get an article. It can also check the University Source It @ Melbourne system to connect you to many resources.
The help menu in EndNote is a great source of information about various features of the program. It also comes with an extensive users manual.
10 Things to Know about Endnote
1. EndNote does not replace the style manual. It will make it easier to follow the manual, but you will still need the manual.
2. Garbage in, garbage out. So check your import results, especially when working with sources such as Google Scholar
that may have inconsistent data.
3. Use one EndNote library for all of your writing. It will make your life easier in the long run.
4. Use the Edit Citation command to make changes to citations in documents. Trying to make changes on the screen risks
corrupting the EndNote citations.
5. If you are using footnote styles, your word processor controls the numbering and placement of the footnote and EndNote
controls the formatting. So you will first need to insert the footnote using your word processor, then insert the EndNote
citation into that footnote.
6. EndNote provides five ways of importing references:
- Online search
- Direct export
- Importing text files
- Importing PDF files
- Through the Capture button in EndNote Web, which can import one record at a time into either an EndNote or an EndNote Web library.
The method you use will depend on which databases you need to work with. Talk to your librarian about searching online databases. They can tell you which databases you have available to you and the best way of searching them.
7. Online search uses the z39.50 Internet protocol, a standard protocol that was developed just for searching and retrieving bibliographic data. It has limitations.
- It does not work through proxy servers.
- It does not use the same port your browser uses.
- It is not the same protocol your browser uses.
8. EndNote can be customized.
9. For collaboration, use the EndNote Web feature set in EndNote to store references online where your entire project team can access them.
10. Back up your EndNote Libraries.
from EndnoteX5Machelp.pdf
System Requirements
- Mac OS X (10.5.x, 10.6.x, 10.7.x) **
- Intel-based Macintosh
- Hard disk with 400 MB available
- Minimum 256 MB of available RAM
- Internet connection required to register for EndNote Web, search online databases, find full text and auto-update references.
- EndNote is Unicode compliant
- EndNote libraries are compatible across Macintosh and Windows platforms
- EndNote Web account included
** To update your Mac OS, go to "System Preferences / Software Update" or go to http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/.
If you are working with the latest versions of Word (2010/2011) you will need the most recent version of Endnote (X5).
In order to use EndNote’s Connect command, an Internet connection is required. To use the Open Link command to access a website, you also need a web browser installed.
In the Finder, choose About This Mac from the Apple
Current Version of Endnote - X5
The current release of EndNote includes the following new features:
- Add and transfer file attachments to references in your EndNote Web account for greater mobility.
- View and annotate PDF files in the EndNote library new PDF & Quick Edit tab. Upgrade or create your Web account with your X5 license to receive this expanded feature.
- Find Reference Updates on the Record Edit window to retrieve additional online data such as the PMCID required for NIH grants.
- Select a new citation option – Author (Year) – within the Find & Insert My References dialog in Cite While You Write.
- Save time with new conditional formatting – substitute empty fields with alternates such as “Volume and Pages” with DOI.
- Support includes DOI, PMCID, and Editor/Translator conditions.
- Review duplicate references quickly with new auto-highlights for each field where differences are found.
- View new Dataset and Music reference types as well as new fields for NIHMSID and Article Number.

Loading...
