Skip to main content

Ephemeral Exhibitions Space: Doris McKellar

What's on display at the Ephemeral Exhibitions Space, Ground Floor Baillieu Study Area

Group of young people throwing snowballs,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00148.

View of Old Wilson Hall across lake, University of Melbourne, circa 1915-1918,
c. 1915-18, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00026.

Doris Hall and Pollie Turnball at Glenmoore,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00307.

Doris Hall [Mckellar] seated on the ground between two males holding tennis racquets,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00461.

Doris Hall and Pollie Turnball at Glenmoore,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00307.


Many of Doris' photographs captures small moments in her life between friends and family.

Here is a link to more information on Doris' life as told through her photographic archive. Women in Australia is a database run as an initiative  of the The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne.
http://www.womenaustralia.info/biogs/AWE5974b.htm

English 3 class, University of Melbourne,  November 1917,
1917, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00045.


https://womeninview.com/2016/10/27/doris-mckellar/

A post from Women in View, a blog about female photographers, goes into depth about the subjects in Doris' photos. This blog has been established as part of research undertaken for the ARC project, ‘The Complete Craze: Women’s Photography and Colonial Modernity,’ at the University of Melbourne.

Glenmoore – Tennis Group,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00164.

Built in 1868, Glenmoore is situated at 1 St George's Road, in Elsternwick. It is a two story residence, and is on the National Trust Register.


Solomon, Geulah. Caufield's Heritage. Caufield: City of Caufield, 1989 

The cloisters, University of Melbourne.
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00022.


Doris' photograph negatives were made with cellulose nitrate. Because of the unstable nature of this film, the University of Melbourne archives have had them frozen. Digital copies were made, but the original negatives are in frozen storage.


https://digitised-collections.unimelb.edu.au/handle/11343/116394
Information on cellulose nitrate film and the freezing process at the University of Melbourne archives can be found here.
(Page 3 of the downloadable bulletin)

Doris Hall in Academic Gown,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris McKellar, 1975.0048.00179.


A collection of photo's from Doris' time at the University are also on display in the First Floor display case in Arts West.

Group of People in Forest Setting,
Date Unknown, University of Melbourne Photographs collection, University of Melbourne Archives, Photographer: Doris
McKellar, 1975.0048.00091.

Doris enjoyed photography. Her camera was a 3a Kodak, developed by the company to be an easy and portable camera. It was marketed at women to appeal to an interest in recording family life.


Hall, Barbara, and Jenny Mathers. Australian Women Photographers: 1840-1960. Richmond: Greenhouse, 1986

Laurenson, Geoffery. "Give a woman a Kodak: The Doris McKellar Photograph Collection". University of Melbourne Collections, 16(2015): 28-34. http://museumsandcollections.unimelb.edu.au/__data/
assets/pdf_file/0018/2031570/07_Laurenson-Kodak16.pdf