Provides the full text of more than 200 history journals but sometimes lacks the most recent 3-5 years, so do not restrict your searches to JSTOR. Click the links for an overview and advanced search tips.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic history journals.
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
This collection, created by RLUK (Research Libraries UK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. The digitization of more than 26,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions provides researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.
Includes historical journals, books, newspapers and US/UK government documents covering history, philosophy, literature studies, classics, legal studies, history of science, religion, psychology, engineering technologies, art studies, culture, and medicine.
19th Century UK Periodicals is a database using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland,the National Library of Australia, and many other sources, to make available digitised versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals.
Artemis Primary Sources combines several primary source databases including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Collections Online, and a number of 19th century British and American newspaper databases. An excellent resource for finding primary sources relating to modern history.
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. ARTstor's community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
British History Online contains primary and secondary sources for the history of the British Isles. Includes nineteenth-century Ordnance Survey maps; journals of the House of Lords and House of Commons; the Victoria County History of the counties of England; the Survey of London from English Heritage; calendars of state papers; letters, diaries and more.
Includes original documents produced between 1874 and 1965, and range from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
This collection of 2,360 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.
Collection of original source material from British and European archives, this database includes documents from history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations address the key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.
This collection features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe. More than 40 volumes of sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. It also includes the English translation of Barth's magnum opus, The Church Dogmatics, and the original German version, Die kirchliche Dogmatik. Please note: sources are mostly in German.
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. The Library has access to selected collections within this database.
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. Early European Books has within its scope all works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield. It builds upon and complements Early English Books Online (EEBO) and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials. The Library has access to Collections 1-4.
This full text collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. It has over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) and includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Primarily in English - also includes other languages.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750
First World War: Personal Experiences contains mostly English-language material, but some German, Italian, Russian and languages other than English. Includes aerial leaflets, atrocity propaganda, international posters, postcards, cartoons and political pamphlets, journals, photographs, maps, letters and official documents. Presents international perspectives on the conflict, the Home Front, the role of women during the war, and more.
The Trial of King Louis XVI, 1792-1793 resulted in completely opposite evaluations by both contemporary and later observers. This collection presents the entire corpus of all public interventions by representatives in the National Convention during the trial from November 1792 to January 1793. A six-volume compilation of speeches and interventions during the trial.
A multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
This collection brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices. The archive touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and attempts at monopoly; trade Wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; mass production; luxury; taste; and the evolution of global branding.
House of Commons sessional papers from the 18th through to the 21st centuries, with supplementary material back to 1688. Also includes Hansard from 1803 to 2005, Peter Cockton's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-1900, and diplomatic and consular reports 1887-1916. The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world.
HCPP contains House of Commons sessional papers from the 18th through to the 21st centuries, with supplementary material back to 1688. The collection also includes Hansard from 1803 to 2005, Peter Cockton's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1801-1900, and diplomatic and consular reports 1887-1916. The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
Integrum Profi provides an electronic portrait of Russia. The database contains archives of mass-media from more than 4,700 magazines, newspapers, TV and radio transcripts, and tools for research in political science, defense and security, economics, humanities, and social sciences.
Provides direct access to rare primary source materials and evidence of Britain’s cultural, social, industrial and technological heritage. This online collection of more than 67,000 items is drawn from five categories of material: Nineteenth-Century Entertainment ; Booktrade ; Popular Prints ; Crime, Murders, and Executions; Advertising.
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. Also contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963, are sourced exclusively from The National Archives, the UK government's official archive. This digital collection provides complete coverage (nearly 12,000 pages) of the Cabinet Conclusions (Minutes) (CAB 128) and Memoranda (CAB 129), and covers Britain's relationship with the EEC, Anglo-American ties, the Cold War, Decolonisation, and issues of Public and Political Morality.
This collection describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world between 1600 and 1926. This fully searchable digital collection includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations.
The Making of the Modern World, Parts I and II, documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world from the last half of the 15th century into the beginning of the 20th century. It offers new ways of understanding the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution and the development of modern capitalism. The collection provides full-text searching of an abundance of rare books and primary source materials, including: Monographs; Serials; Political pamphlets and broadsides; Government publications; Proclamations; a wide range of Ephemera; and more.
Mass Observation Online, British social history, 1937-1972, from the University of Sussex, contains original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, together with printed publications, photographs and interactive maps. The social research organisation, Mass Observation, was founded in 1937 by anthropologist Tom Harrisson, film-maker Humphrey Jennings and poet Charles Madge. Their aim was to create an ‘anthropology of ourselves’, and by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers, they studied the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain. This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried from 1937 until the mid 1950s. Library has access to Mass Observation Online I-IV.
This database contains fundamental primary sources on the National Socialist state and the NSDAP, Nazi ideology and propaganda, National Socialist justice and legislation, on resistance and persecution, and annihilation and expulsion in the "Third Reich".
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. NCCO unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource of over 100 types of primary source documents, including Books and monographs, Newspapers and periodicals, Diaries and personal letters, Manuscripts, Photographs, Pamphlets, Maps, Sheet music and more.
Oxford Historical Treaties (OHT) is home to the full text of Parry's Consolidated Treaty Series, the only comprehensive collection of treaties of all nations concluded from 1648 through 1919. Available via the Oxford Public International Law platform, OHT is cross-searchable with Oxford’s public international law resources.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. “Perdita” means “lost woman” and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. This collection contains full digital facsimiles of over 230 of the manuscripts from the Perdita Project. These manuscripts were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
High-resolution, colour reproductions of every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journals, from her first diary entry in 1832 to shortly before her death in 1901, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.
Rock and Roll explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. Includes colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia..
The Romantic Era Redefined is a searchable collection of works focusing in the period between 1800 and 1830, that will bring academic research libraries a new, genre-redefining electronic collection of Romantic-era literature. In partnership with Pickering & Chatto Publishers, Alexander Street Press will publish in this collection canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America.
Brill’s Russian Military Intelligence on Asia’s archive series gathers the holdings of the Russian State Military History Archive (RGVIA) in Moscow. It contains historical-geographical, statistical, topographical and ethnographical descriptions of countries and their individual regions; material on the domestic political and economic situation of states, their foreign policy and international relations, and the state of their armed forces and military skills.
A collection of articles, consisting of descriptions, reports, and treatises, by Russian military and diplomatic staff, and also translations and summaries of works originally published outside Russia, issued by the general staff of the Russian army in order to support existing and potential Russian activities on the Asian continent.
This resource brings together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, allowing students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Register for My Archive and save your favourite documents, search results and images to your personal collection area.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of material sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries. The primary source material is accompanied by research guides, subject outlines, and scholarly essays on the subject. The archive also offers links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research. NOTE: The Library has purchased Part II : Slave Trade in the Atlantic World.
This collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. It also contains hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery. The editors have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere.
The Stalin Digital Archive (SDA) is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale University Press. This collection provides access to primary source materials from Stalin’s personal papers and insightful monographs on communism. In addition, it seeks to advance research and teaching through new ways for scholars and students to interact with this content and collaborate.
State Papers Online is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents. Also includes State Papers Online 18th Century, 1714-1782.
This collection contains women's travel diaries and correspondence from The Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University. From the everyday to the extraordinary, these rare diaries and the supporting correspondence describe the travel experiences, destinations and desires of nineteenth and twentieth century American women.
The Library has access to Section I. Spiritualism, sensation and magic ; Section II. Circuses, sideshows and freaks ; Section III. Music hall, theatre and entertainment ; Section IV. Moving pictures, optical entertainments and the advent of cinema.
Visual History Archive published by USC Shoah Foundation allows users to search through and view more than 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, it has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, and the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda.
Collection of primary materials drawn from more than 300 libraries, archives and institutions. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Women’s international organizations have focused on issues related to peace, poverty, child labor, literacy, disease prevention, and global inequality.
This collection consists of two distinct elements: A finding aid to women's studies resources in The U.K. National Archives, which ranges across all of the document classes TNA hold ; Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories, which cover the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection, parts I and II contains newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. It includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. British Newspapers parts III and IV supplement these collections with additional British regional newspapers
Provides access to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection; 19th Century British Library Newspapers Parts I - II; British Newspapers Part III (1780-1950). Please note: If you are looking for British Newspapers 1600-1950, the database has been renamed and rolled into Gale Primary Sources.
The Historical Jewish Press website includes electronic versions of Jewish newspapers from different historical periods in three languages. All the website's newspapers are black and white, and the website allows the user to search the text of all the published material. Search results are given in the form of articles that mirror the original layout of the newspaper.
Includes the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Facsimilies of articles and illustrations can be viewed, printed and saved either individually or in the context of the page in which they appear.
Provides access to more than twenty mostly English-language newspapers (coverage: 1832-1953). Dates of coverage vary from title to title. Includes New York Times, 1851-2006; The Guardian (1821-2003); The Observer (1791-2003); The Washington Post (1877-1997) and others.
Timarit.is is a digital library where millions of pages in digital format are made available on the Internet. This gives access to the printed cultural heritage that is preserved in newspapers and periodicals of the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Iceland.