Skip to main content

Human Rights Law Research Guide: Books & Journals

Finding scholarly journal articles on human rights law

To find academic / scholarly journal articles on human rights law, irrespective of the journal in which they are published, we recommend the following indexing and abstracting databases:

Legal Scholarship Network on the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) for the most recent multijurisdictional scholarship.

AGIS for Australasian articles on international, regional and domestic human rights law. Coverage is from 1980s to current.

Legal Journals Index (LJI) on Westlaw UK - for UK and European articles. Coverage is from 1980s to current.

Index to Legal Periodicals - a multijurisdictional index of over 1200 legal journals - mainly in UK, US, Canadian, Australian, NZ, Irish and international journals. Most articles are available in full text. Coverage is from 1980s to current.

Legal Tracmultijurisdictional index of articles in over 1200 journals and law reviews - mainly in UK, US, Canadian and international journals. Full text articles are available for more than 200 journals. Coverage is from 1980s to current.

Law Journal Library on HEINOnline - contains the full text of more than 2,200 legal journals and law reviews.  This is an excellent database to use for older material, as coverage is from the first issue of all journals.   

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) on HEINOnline. The IFLP database coverage includes records from 1984 to date.

Recent print and e-books on international and comparative human rights law

Print books on international human rights law are generally shelved at KC 200. Books on human rights law in a particular country are shelved with the books on that jurisdiction. See the individual country or regional tabs in this guide for books on human rights law in that jurisdiction.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Human Rights Law

Oxford Bibliographies Online - International Law provides encyclopedic entries in annotated bibliographies  on a range of International Human Rights Law topics. This was authored by Jessica Almqvist in 2012, so check the catalogue for more recent books and find more recent articles by searching our recommended databases.

Reference & Encyclopaedic Books