Library Guides: Public International Law: Introduction

What is public international law?

Public International Law is composed of the laws, rules, and principles of general application that deal with the conduct of nation states and international organisations among themselves as well as the relationships between nation states and international organisations with persons, whether natural or juridical. Public International Law is sometimes called the "law of nations" or just simply International Law. It should not be confused with Private International Law, which is primarily concerned with the resolution of conflict of national laws, determining the law of which country is applicable to specific situations.

A great place to start - Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (UniMelb staff & student access) is a comprehensive online resource containing over 1600 scholarly articles on every aspect of public international law.

Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by John P Grant, J Craig Barker & Clive Parry
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: OUP, 3rd ed, 2009

Parry & Grant brings together terminology and descriptive information on international law. Its alphabetical arrangement offer concise but substantial information on essentials of international law such as: Legal terms as used in international law; Significant doctrines; Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration; Important incidents; Judicial and literary figures; Treaties and conventions; Organizations and institutions; and Acronyms. This is available in both print and as an e-book.

Oxford Bibliographies - International Law (UniMelb staff & student access) provides concise and authoritative scholarly commentary and bibliographical guidance on many international law topics, arranged alphabetically. More on the topics included.

The Effect of International Law on Domestic Law

Books on this topic are shelved at KC 86 and KC 334.1 on Level 5 of the Law Library. Also check the catalogue for E-books.

Essentials of international law : an Australian context by Math Noortmann & Pauline Collins Essentials of International Law: An Australian Context provides a comprehensive guide to the basic rules and sources of international law. Designed as a concise and accessible reference for both students and practitioners, it offers Australia-specific examples to contextualise international law concepts for Australian readers. Key principles, cases, legislation, treaties and other international instruments are identified and explained succinctly.
Call Number: KC 123 A82 NOOR
Publication Date: 2023

Books that usefully compare many countries include:

International Law and Domestic Legal Systems: incorporation, transformation, and persuasion by Dinah Shelton (ed)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: OUP, 2011
See the chapter on New Zealand
The Fluid State: international law and national legal systems by Hilary Charlesworth et al (eds)
Call Number: Law High Use KC 86 FLUI
Publication Date: Federation Press, 2005
See the chapter on New Zealand

International Law - Historical Documents

Making of Modern Law : Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926
This collection is an invaluable collection of legal treatises, historical records and works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century. Providing broad coverage, the collection enables detailed research on centuries of major events of legal history, from public policy and taxation to contract law, sustainable development concerns, and issues of war and peace.

History of International Law
The History of International Law collection on HEIN Online includes more than 800 full text publications dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions.

History of International Law Timeline

The History of International Law Timeline (open access from Oxford Academic) is a concise map of 'the broad history of public international law with particular attention paid to the signing of major treaties, the foundation of fundamental institutions, the birth of major figures in international law and milestones in the development of some of the field’s best-known doctrines'. The timeline begins with the Treaty of Tordesillas in 1494.