Skip to main content

Public International Law: Books & Commentary

This guide will help you find resources for researching public international law.

Books in the Law Library - e-books & print

Use introductory texts to begin your research. These will help you structure your research and point to key primary and secondary sources.

Print books on international law are shelved on Level 5 of the Law Library at KC 80 (covering both public & private international law) and KC 100 (public international law).

1. To find print and e-books, search the Library catalogue for your topic in the keyword field eg. international law.

 or

2. Browse the shelves - international law books are on Level 5 at KC

Reference Books & Handbooks

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law is an online database (Melbourne University staff and student acess only) that contains full-text online editions of classic publications, leading reference works and authoritative books published by Oxford University Press, such as Oppenheim's International Law and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law series. The books are fully searchable and linked by the Oxford Law Citator. The books can also be browsed by author or subject.

The Hague Collected Courses

The Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law (also known as Recueil des Cours) (UniMelb staff & student access) 

This online encyclopaedic collection of international law topics is published by BRILL, and includes more than 350 volumes, containing over 1200 lectures given by prominent legal specialists since 1923. At least seven new volumes are added every year. All courses are published in the language in which they were delivered, either in English or in French. The database is searchable and can also be browsed. 

Recueil des Cours is also held in print in the Law Library at Law P RECU - vols 1-350 (1923-2010).

Yearbooks

HeinOnline - Foreign and International Law Resources Database contains many jurisdiction and subject based yearbooks.

In addition, the following databases contain yearbooks Hein does not include. 

Cambridge Journals Online -

  • Netherlands Yearbook of International Law
  • Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law

Oxford Journals Online

  • British Yearbook of International Law
  • Yearbook of International Environmental Law

Recent International Law print and e-books in the Law Library