Skip to main content

International Investment Law

What is International Investment Law?

International investment law is an instrument of public international law. It governs foreign direct investment and the resolution of disputes between foreign investors and sovereign States. This guide will recommend the best resources for locating primary and secondary resources to research international investment law.  

Bibliographies - a good place to start your research

The following Oxford Bibliographies Online contain very useful lists of books, journals and journal articles, as well as some primary sources, and are an excellent place to start your research into international investment law. These Bibliographies are all in the Oxford Bibliographies International Law module.

One Stop Research Databases

The following UniMelb subscription databases include arbitration awards and decisions, bilateral investment treaties, multilateral treaties, journal articles, books, and selected domestic arbitration laws. All have different content and are searched in different ways, so to research comprehensively you may need to use several. 

  • Investment Claims (Oxford University Press) - contains arbitration awards and decisions, over 1500 bilateral investment treaties, several multilateral treaties, journal articles, and books.
  • Kluwer Arbitration - although not focussed only on international investment arbitration, this database includes the full texts of bilateral investment treaties, domestic legislation (in the ICCA Handbook on Commercial Arbitration), as well as arbitral decisions and awards issued in investor-state disputes.  It also provides access to secondary sources, including over 100 e-books and 11 arbitration journals. 
  • Transnational Dispute Management - includes a database of bilateral investment treaties, arbitral decisions and awards, and national legislation governing foreign investment. It also includes a journal featuring articles about investor-state disputes and other transnational commercial disputes.