Skip to main content

Managing References

An introduction to reference management programs and software.

Citavi

Citavi is a reference management software program that is produced by Swiss Academic Software in Wädenswil, Switzerland. It was originally released in 1995 as 'LiteRat', before being redeveloped and renamed as Citavi in 2003. Citavi is widely used in Germany and many German-speaking universities have site licenses for Citavi.

Citavi includes standard features which allow you to find, store and organise references, as well as insert citations and generate bibliographies in documents, in many different styles.

Other Citavi features include:

  • Pickers for Internet Explorer, Firefox, Adobe Reader and Adobe Acrobat which allow you to save references, quotations, abstracts, tables of contents, keywords and images.
  • A Knowledge Organiser which allows you to save and organise concepts and quotations. 
  • A Task Planner to schedule and track tasks.

Citavi is compatible with:

  • Most word processors that support the Rich Text (RTF) or OpenDocument Text (ODT) formats, including Microsoft Word, and OpenOffice.org Writer, and
  • Many LaTeX editors, such as Led, LyX, TeXMaker, TeXnixCenter, WinEdt, WinShell, and WinTex.

Getting Citavi

There are three editions of Citavi:

  • Citavi Free: a starter edition ideal for testing small solo and team projects for up to 100 references,
  • Citavi for Windows: for individual users and small teams, using all features and saving information in a project file
  • Citavi for DBServer: for organisational users that would like to work of team projects on a SQL server.

The University of Melbourne does not currently have a site license for Citavi, however, you can use Citavi Free which is free of charge, allows projects of up to 100 references, is otherwise fully-featured, and does not expire.

If you wish to purchase Citavi, there is special pricing for personal use and for students.

Citavi in 3 Minutes

Using Citavi at the University of Melbourne

To search the University of Melbourne Library catalogue through Citavi:

  1. Click the Online search button in the menu (with a globe and magnifying glass icon).
  2. Click the Add database or catalog link (with the green plus sign icon).
  3. Type melbourne in the Name text box.
  4. Tick the check box next to the option: University of Melbourne.
  5. Click the Add button.

You can then search for items in the University of Melbourne Library catalogue, by author, title or all fields, and download the references directly into Citavi.

To look for full-text documents for references in your Citavi project using 'Source it @ Melbourne':

  1. Select: Tools > Options.
  2. Click the OpenURL tab.
  3. Paste the URL: http://sfx.unimelb.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/sfxlcl41 into the Base URL text box.
  4. Click the OK button.

You can then select any reference in your Citavi project and search for the full text by selecting the menu options:

References > Check availability and find full text > Check availability with OpenURL

The 'Source it @ Melbourne' webpage for that reference will then open in a web browser, listing the availability of the item in databases available through the University of Melbourne Library, along with links to search for the item in the library catalogue and to request it via interlibrary loan.

Keep up-to-date

Connect with Citavi on Facebook or Twitter:

       Facebook      Twitter

Comparisons