Skip to main content

Managing References

An introduction to reference management programs and software.

Introduction

EndNote is software that allows you to record, organise and use references and PDF files. The production of bibliographies for a thesis, essay or paper can be tedious and time-consuming. EndNote can assist with this task by reducing the need to re-type the same information repeatedly, saving time and minimising the risk of error. It can be used to:

  • store bibliographic records (e.g. details of books, chapters, journal articles, websites, conference papers, theses, reports, etc.), PDF files, other attachments, links and research notes added manually or imported from web-based search engines/databases
  • automatically generate citations and bibliographies in specific styles (e.g. APA 5th, Chicago 15a, Vancouver) in word-processed documents
  • search and retrieve bibliographic records from library catalogues and journal indexing databases
  • retrieve articles by querying the University's SourceIt system for web locations

Installing EndNote

The University of Melbourne has a licence that allows staff and students to load EndNote on to University-owned computers, or on to personal computers for use related to coursework, research or other work directly related to the University. 

Installing EndNote on a UoM computer?
You are unlikely to have admin rights on a University-owned computer. Please contact your local IT staff to install EndNote on a UoM computer.

For more information, see the links below:

EndNote Online

EndNote Online is a web-based service that can be used to create bibliographies, manage references, share libraries collaboratively, and insert citations into Microsoft Word via Cite While You Write functionality. It can be used as a standalone library or as a way of transferring references if you are using more than one computer.

Under the terms of our EndNote site licence, all University of Melbourne students and staff have access to EndNote Online.

Keep up-to-date

Connect with EndNote on Facebook or Twitter:

       Facebook      Twitter

For staff: export your references from EndNote for import into Readings Online

To export selected references from EndNote in a format that can be imported into Readings Online:

  1. Open your EndNote library.
  2. Select the references you wish to export.
  3. Select File > Export
  4. Select Save as type: Text File (*.txt)
  5. Select the Output style: RefMan (RIS) Export 
  6. Tick the checkbox: Export Selected References
  7. Click theSave button

Then follow these instructions to load your RIS file into a Readings Online collection

 

Guides and tutorials

EndNote Tutorials

EndNote Support