Skip to main content

Managing References

An introduction to reference management programs and software.

Papers

Papers is reference management software for Mac OS X, iOS and Windows and versions of papers are available from the iTunes App Store for iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch.

It features federated searching across 25+ databases, including PubMed, Scopus, JSTOR, and arXiv. You can download PDFs via an integrated browser, and organise your papers by author, journal, (smart) groups, and keywords. Papers also lets you insert citations into your document, with over 7000 citation styles.

Papers Online lets you access and share your collections online.

Using Papers with the University of Melbourne Library

How to set up Papers to use your UniMelb EZProxy server

On Windows. Go to Settings>Access. From the drop down menu, select the University of Melbourne

 

Instructions for Mac are here.

iPhone/iPad instructions are here.

Scopus ID for Papers

To configure Papers for Mac to search the database Scopus you will need the Library's Scopus ID number.

To configure Scopus in Papers for Mac:

  1. In Papers, select Scopus from the list of available search engines,
  2. Click on the settings icon (a cog) at the bottom of Papers,
  3. Enter the Scopus ID and tick the checkbox for Use Library Proxy.

See the links below to access the Scopus ID (University of Melbourne staff & students only) and for instructions on how to use it:

Introduction to Papers 3 for Mac

Introduction to Papers 3 for Windows

Introducing Papers 3 for iPhone/iPad

For staff: export your references from Papers for import into Readings Online

To export references from Papers in a format that can be imported into Readings Online:

 On a Mac:

  1. Select the references or collection you wish to export.
  2. Select: File > Export > Refman RIS File.
  3. You have the option of exporting selected papers, a selected collection or your entire library.
  4. Select where you wish to save the file on your computer and give the file a name.
  5. Click the Export button.

Then follow these instructions to load your RIS file into a Readings Online collection

On Windows:

  1. Select the references or collection you wish to export.
  2. Click the double arrow icon at the bottom right of the window.
  3. You have the option of exporting selected papers, a selected collection or your entire library.
  4. Select where you wish to save the file on your computer and give the file a name.
  5. Click the Export button.

Then follow the instructions below to load your RIS file into a Readings Online collection

Keep up-to-date

Connect with Papers on Facebook or Twitter:

       Facebook      Twitter