Go to the library catalogue
Finding eBooks
- Use a keyword search to find books and ebooks on a topic. Once you have completed a search you can limit your search to a specific collection such as, Giblin Eunson Library or format such as online books (login with your username and password to view e-books)
- Only want an eBook? Choose the option 'eBooks' in the catalogue. To read an e-book, open the catalogue record and then select the link: Connect to electronic book.
Searching in Discovery will also retrieve books and ebooks
Finding and using eBooks
 |
Browse for titles in the Library Catalogue |
Browse by subject:
Once you find a good book in the library catalogue, click on the subject links at the bottom of the record to find more items on that topic, e.g.
- Education -Research
- Education -- Research -- Evaluation.
- Education -- Research -- Methodology.
- Teaching-Research
Search the catalogue using a keyword search
- keyword AND dictionar*eg. education AND dictionar*
- keyword AND encyclopedia*eg. education AND encycloped*
- keyword AND handbook*eg. education AND handbook*
Getting started using reference books
Reference books can be an excellent starting point for locating quick, background information and developing an understanding of a topic.
The majority of our reference sources are available online via the library catalogue and Discovery.The print reference collection is housed in the compactus on the ground floor of the Giblin Eunson Library. Here are some suggestions that may help you get started.
Encyclopedia of educationCall Number: Online Resource- The concise Oxford English dictionary byCall Number: Online Resource
- Macquarie Dictionary and ThesaurusCall Number: Online Resource
Further borrowing options
- Graduate students and staff member can request books and articles we don't own via interlibrary loans Requested books are delivered to the University of Melbourne Library for collection.
- Find copies of books held in Australian libraries using TROVE.
- Borrowing from other Victorian Universities - Get a CAVAL card and then you can visit and borrow books from other university libraries in Victoria.
- Live Interstate? Borrowing options - Use the ULANZ borrowing scheme to borrow in person from any other participating Australian and New Zealand university libraries.
- Want us to buy a book? Fill in the Orders Request form.