New Advances
This is the "General Medicine" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medicine  

Find information in medicine and related fields.
Last Updated: Mar 15, 2012 URL: http://unimelb.libguides.com/medicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

General Medicine Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Clinical Resource Collections

These resources can get you answers in a flash with combinations of texts, drug guides and journal articles ready to go.

MD Consult
Over seventy textbooks in medicine, pathology and surgery combined with a range of general clinical journals and reviews.   A collection of Basic Science texts now covers anatomy, cell biology, pathology, genetics. microbiology, physiology

Access Medicine
Harrison's textbook of internal medicine is the core for this collection of medicine and preclinical textbooks.  Also, an A-Z of clinical conditions and a drug guide.  (Five concurrent users)

Ovid Medicine
Use this link for Journals@Ovid for a collection of research journals.  Click on Ovid Resources to add Books@Ovid to add textbook chapters to your search results from a collection of 250 ebooks.

 

BioMedical Library Collection

Library Catalogue

The Biomedical Library has a large collection of textbooks and specialist medical books for you.  A growing collection of e-books are being added which are available through the Library catalogue.  The Eastern Resource Centre Media collection contains DVD and video resources in medicine and the Biomedical Library has a collection of videos too.   At the service desk, a collection of interactive CDs and DVDs are stored.  These are listed in the catalogue and you can also ask the service desk staff to browse the collection around a particular classification number.

The book collection is spread across three floors. 

  • High Use Collection  : Located on the ground floor, books in the collection are mainly from reading lists or are general medical textbooks or books for assisting with exams and OSCEs.  Items are on overnight or seven day loan.  The collection is in two sections with heavier books being laid flat at the front of the collection and other books shelved vertically at the rear.  The catalogue identifies which section a particular book is in.  Check here for Naish's Medical sciences (610 MEDI),  Kumar & Clark's clinical medicine (616 KUMA), Gray's anatomy for students (611 DRAK) and all your reading list titles.   Also check in here for copies of readings that you need at the front of the collection.

  • General Collection : On the second floor is a collection of over 50,000 books covering the entire range of medical sciences.  Whether you are looking for the latest in diagnosing disease, chasing a radiology image, investigating medical ethics or social medicine or wanting assistance with interpreting statistics and communicating with patients, you can find books here.  Over 2,000 new books get added here or as e-books in the catalogue each year so that the latest findings are available to you. 

  • Research and History Collections : In compactus in the basement, you will find four collections.  The journals collection is arranged alphabetically for easy access to particular titles.  You may wish to browse recent issues of Medical Journal of Australia, Australian Family Physician or international medical journals like New England Journal of Medicine or The Lancet.

    The stack (ST) collection houses another 40,000 books that complement the collection on the second floor.  The collection contains specialist texts published prior to 1990 and textbooks of primarily historical research interest.  Most of this collection is included in the library catalogue.

    A History of Medicine collection awaits you directly at the bottom of the stairs.  This collection is added to regularly and provides biographies of prominent physicians and surgeons, the impact of disease through history and in societies, the development of medical sciences and medical institutions like hospitals, health departments and medical schools.

    A small video collection is also available in the basement.

 

Medicine Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Patrick Condron
Contact Info
Send Email
 

UniMelb Biomedical Search

UniMelb Biomedical Search (Google)

This Google Custom Search engine has been developed to take you straight to content from trusted services and deliver information on diseases and concepts from websites like Better Health Channel, the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and the Centres for Disease Control. 

One click access to a wide range of journal articles is also available so whether your searching is general or specific you will find information. 

Re-run your search on Google and get access to further websites while remaining within the University's authentication service for easy linking to protected content.  Note that while this search engine is quite comprehensive it does not fully index the sites that it includes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip