Skip to main content

Research Impact

Tools and support to assist with measuring research.

Journal Impact

Journal-level metrics aim to measure the influence of a journal. There are many journal-level metrics based on different methods of calculation and datasets.

Applying for a grant? Some grant schemes do not allow the use of journal impact measures in grant applications. Refer to scheme-specific rules to determine what information may be included. Funding rules change from year to year.

Caution: Be aware of fake impact factors such as Global Impact Factor (GIF), Citefactor and Universal Impact Factor (UIF). These are invented by fake companies for predatory journals. For more information refer to article 'The story of fake impact factor companies and how we detected them'.

Applying for a grant? Some grant schemes do not allow the use of journal impact measures in grant applications. Refer to scheme-specific rules to determine what information may be included. Funding rules change from year to year.

Use these tools to find out the rank of a journal as well as its impact metrics:

 

Journal rating lists have been created to supplement the rankings from Journal Citation Reports and Scopus Journals. The rating lists from Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) are most known. Note, the ERA Journal List 2010 with rankings and the ERA Journal List 2012 are no longer official. ERA 2015 Submitted Journal List includes listing of 16,000 journals that are scholarly and have peer review.The ERA 2018 List is still in consultation.

 

Subject specific journal ranking lists

  • ABDC Journal Quality List
    Australian Business Deans Council Journal Quality List 2016 includes of 2,700 titles ranking business, economics and commercial law journals.

  • ACPHIS IS Rankings
    Australian Council of Professors and Heads of Information Systems provides listing of 180 Information Systems journals.

  • APSA Preferred Journal List 
    Australian Political Studies Association ranks over 600 political science journals.

  • CitEc  
    Citations in Economics uses RePEc data to rank over 400 journals and 300 working paper series. 

  • ERIH PLUS
    The European Reference Index for the Humanities an index developed by European researchers and covers high impact publications in humanities in the European languages.

  • Journal Quality List 
    A collation of journal rankings from 14 ranking systems covering over 900 journals in economics, finance, accounting, management and marketing compiled by Professor Anne Harzing.

  • Washington and Lee Ranking of Law Journals
    Published annually providing rankings for over 1,500 law journals.‚Äč

These directories are not journal impact measurement tools, but will provide further information on publications. For example, whether a journal is peer-reviewed or not.

  • PubsHub : Journals & Congresses
    Submission criteria for nearly 6,000 medical peer-reviewed medical journals & congresses.
    Table format for quick evaluation, comparison and analysis of submission and placement criteria.
    Journal information includes: impact factor, circulation, rejection rates, time to acceptance.
    Congress information includes: frequency, attendees, association involved, next abstract due date. 

     

  • UlrichsWeb : global serials directory (ProQuest)
    Covers all disciplines.
    Publisher information for 300,000+ periodicals (80,000 publishers from 200 countries).
    Provides ISSN, subscription rates, publisher name, title, editor, electronic availability and subject category information. Useful for checking whether a journal title is refereed (peer-reviewed)

 

  • Cabell's Scholarly Analytics

Journal impact metrics and rankings are not comparable across disciplines or databases.

New journals are likely to receive an impact factor only after two years of indexing.

Some grant schemes do not allow the use of Journal Impact Factor (JIF) in grant applications, e.g. NHMRC which phased it out in 2012.

See a short the clip 'The Research Counts, Not the Journal' where Nobel Laureates take a stand against the role of impact factors in research 

In Journal Citation Reports journals may be searched by title, date or subject category but if you are looking for a rank and impact factor search by title. Journals also may be ranked in more than one category.

If you want to know what other factors to consider in decisions regarding potential journals to submit to for publication see the Scholarly Publishing Guide.

For more information on Journal Impact Factor, see Clarivate Analysis Impact Factor and on Scopus CiteScore, SJR or SNIP, see Scopus Research Metrics.

Loading