Skip to main content

Staying Current: Keep your research up-to-date: Journals & Article Alerts

Keep up-to-date with new research in your area with journal and book alerts, RSS Feeds, TOC Alerts and Conference Alerts.

What are Alerts?

Alerts can be created to stay-to-date with current research relevant to your topic. Alerts notify you by e-mail or RSS feed of new records that are added to a database that match search terms you have specified. 

There are three types of alerts:

  • Search alerts
  • Citation alerts
  • Table of Contents (TOC alerts)

Principles for setting up alerts:

  • Register or set up an account with the database provider. These are free and typically involve creating a username, a password and providing an email address. Remember these details for accessing saved searches and modifying alerts. 
  • If you wish to receive alerts from more than one database provider, e.g. Scopus (Elsevier) and Web of Science (Thomson Reuters) you need to create separate accounts with each company. However, only a single account is required for creating alerts in multiple databases from the same company, e.g. Ebsco provides access to Discovery and several specialist databases.

Search Alerts

You can use a database alerting service to save a search as an alert. The alert automatically searches the database for the latest records matching your saved searches. The database will then send you updated relevant results by e-mail or RSS feed. 

Although different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, the general principles are same. Alerts are usually set up from a database Search History or equivalent. 

  1. Conduct a search using relevant search term/s and limits  

  2. Save the search as an alert. You will be prompted to sign-in or register (see box above)

  3. Name the alert and select alert option (e.g. email alert)

  4. Choose alert notification frequency (e.g. receive weekly or monthly alerts)

Most database providers have helpful step-by-step instructions for saving searches and setting up search alerts. These include:

Citation Alerts (also called Author Alerts)

A citation alert notifies you by email whenever a publication (e.g. journal article) you have chosen has been cited by a new publication that has been added to the database. 

Although different databases will have different procedures for setting search alerts, the general principles are same. You must:

  1. Locate the record of the article you want to add as a citation alert
  2. Create Citation Alert for the specified article

Most database providers provides step-by-step instructions for saving searches and setting up search alerts.

Using Current Contents Connect(ISI) - New interface

To create 'Journal Alerts' you need to be logged in with your ISI profile and access 'My Tools' > 'Saved Searches & Alerts'

Make sure to select the middle tab 'Journal Alerts' and easily 'add journals' (selecting from a subject list or alphabetic search) here to create a new 'Journal Alert'

You can add and edit Journal Alerts easily from this page.

To see a quick list of all journals added to your journal alerts, expand the 'My Web of Science' feature at the bottom of the display page of the 'Web of Science' interface.

Table of Contents (TOC) Alerts

Stay up to date with journals of interest to you with Table of Contents Alerts (TOC).

Current Contents Connect (ISI) is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource providing access to complete bibliographic information for over 8000 Scholarly journals. Current Contents Connect can be used to set up Table of Contents Alerts (TOC). This allows you to:

  • Receive e-mail alerts of the latest Table of Contents for your selected journal(s), as they are published.

  • Receive RSS feeds of the latest Table of Contents for your selected journal(s).

  • Access the latest Table of Contents for your selected journal(s) directly from the ISI Web of Knowledge home page.