This is the "The Collection" page of the "Barry Tuckwell Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Barry Tuckwell Collection   Tags: conductor, french_horn, music  

A finding aid to the scores, recordings, correspondence and other materials of the Barry Tuckwell Collection
Last Updated: May 9, 2013 URL: http://unimelb.libguides.com/tuckwell Print Guide RSS Updates

The Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find and View Material

Material from the Tuckwell Collection is available for viewing by contacting staff at the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library.

Twenty-four hours notice must be given prior to viewing by either visiting, phoning +61 3 8344 5262 or send an email to the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library. 

Items will be viewed in the Cultural Collections Reading Room located on the third floor of the Baillieu Library. Viewing hours are 10am-5pm, Monday-Friday. 

 

The Barry Tuckwell Collection

In 2008, the Ian Potter Foundation made a generous grant to the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library for the acquisition, cataloguing and preservation of the Barry Tuckwell Collection. Barry Tuckwell is widely recognised as the foremost French horn player of his generation.

Among the Collection's contents are: printed (some pre-publication proofs) and manuscript scores, including works written for, dedicated to and edited or annotated by Tuckwell; sound recordings in various formats, commercial and non-commercial; correspondence with composers, conductors, other performers, instrument makers, administrators and others; diaries; documents related to the London Symphony Orchestra, in particular for the period when Tuckwell was its Chairman; concert programmes; posters (not in boxes, some framed); press clippings; photographs; inventories and trade catalogues.The concert programs in the collection span Tuckwell’s career from the mid 1940s until his retirement as a performer. A large proportion feature performing groups with which Tuckwell was associated, such as the London Symphony Orchestra, the Tuckwell Wind Quintet and the Jones, Tuckwell and Langbein Trio. Tuckwell’s international solo career is also fully documented. A program listing is currently underway.

Some of Tuckwell’s more notable correspondents include Leonard Bernstein, Benjamin Britten, John Culshaw, Benny Goodman, Norman Lebrecht, André Previn, Leopold Stokowski and Alice Strauss, daughter of Richard Strauss.  

As the collection is catalogued and listed, conservation measures are taken to improve its physical condition and ensure its longevity for future research. Tuckwell sorted much of the correspondence and concert programs into chronological order. These collections are described according to archival practices, while the manuscript scores and published music are catalogued onto the library catalogue. A catalogued example of a music mansucript by Richard Rodney Bennett .

The Barry Tuckwell Collection is a significant and comprehensive resource for anyone researching any aspect of Tuckwell’s professional career and for those interested more generally in twentieth-century horn repertoire or performance practice.

 

Biography

Souvenir book commemorating Tuckwell's tenure as conductor of the Maryland Symphony Orchestra, 1982-1998.

Barry Tuckwell's multi-faceted career in music spans more than sixty years. During this time he has performed throughout the world as soloist, chamber musician and conductor; he is also a highly regarded teacher. Born in Melbourne in 1931, he joined the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra at 15 and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra a year later before leaving for England at 19. After playing with the Hallé, Scottish National and Bournemouth Symphony orchestras, Tuckwell was appointed as Principal Horn with the London Symphony Orchestra. During his thirteen years with the orchestra, he was elected to the Board of Directors and was Chairman of the Board for six years. 

Resigning from the LSO in 1968 to pursue a career as soloist and conductor, Tuckwell was chief conductor of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra for four years, and founding Conductor and Music Director of the Maryland Symphony Orchestra for sixteen. He has made over fifty commercial recordings as a horn soloist and conductor and has received three Grammy Nominations. He continues to have an active career throughout the world, guest conducting and broadcasting, as well as giving lectures and master classes.

Tuckwell currently holds the position of Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne and Honorary Patron of the Melbourne International Festival of Brass. Among the many awards he has received are the Companion of the Order of Australia, Officer of the Order of the British Empire, Honorary Doctor of Music from the University of Sydney, Fellow of the Royal College of Music, Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, the George Peabody Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Music in America and the Andrew White Medal from Loyola College. He is also an honorary member of both the Royal Academy of Music and the Guildhall School of Music in London.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip