Skip to main content

Zotero

An introduction to Zotero

Creating an Online Account

First steps – Setting up your online account

  1. Go to www.zotero.org
  2. Go to the top right and select Register

  3. Then fill out your details, type in the capture code and select register.

You now have an online Zotero account, and will be able to access your references online from anywhere!

Organising your Online Account

Once logged in to your account, if you select My Library – you will be able to:

  • create folders (collections)
  • make new references
  • edit the references
  • add tags
  • add the full text to the references
  • Share your references with other people (using the groups function)

 

 

Getting the Browser Add-on for Firefox

Downloading the Firefox Plugin

The Browser plugin for Zotero allows you to access  your references on your browser. If you are not connected to the internet, you can still see your references, even though you can't see your cloud account for Zotero.

To get the Firefox (or other Browser) plugin:

(1) Select the home tab, and then select the red Download Now button

(2) This will take you to the download options page.


(3) You will be given options to select which one, either the Brower plugin (for Firefox, Chrome or Safari) or the standalone applications for Windows. We recommend Zotero 4.0 for Firefox, but the other browser versions are fine.

  • Firefox 
will 
give 
you
 a 
warning.
  • Click Allow
  • When
 this
 window 
pops 
up,
click Install Now
  • You
 will
 need
 to
 restart
 Firefox
 once 
installation
 is 
complete.

You
 will 
know
 that Zotero 
has
 been
 installed
 successfully
 when
 you
 see the Zotero
 icon next to the search bar.


Navigating Zotero

Zotero’s
 simple 
interface 
is 
composed
 of 
three 
columns
:
The
 left 
column
 displays 
your 
library folders
 and 
various 
collections, sub-collections, and tags.
The 
centre 
column 
displays 
the 
references 
in 
the 
specific
 collection
 you have
 highlighted
 in
 the 
left 
column.

The
 right 
column shows you the details of the specific reference you have selected from the centre column (including bibliographic 
information,
 notes, tags and attachments).

Zotero Features

Zotero detects when you are looking at a library catalogue or database and allows you to quickly save an item to your Zotero library by clicking the small book icon.

You can also save web pages, just by clicking the “Create New Item from Current Page” icon . Zotero will save the URL to your library and attach a snapshot of the page itself.

Choosing Your Citation Style

Zotero comes with the main commonly used referencing citation styles already loaded.

To get extra styles:

  • Go to www.zotero.org/styles and download what you need.
  • To see your citation style options in Zotero,  go to the Actions icon > Preferences > cite > styles
  • You can select from the common styles here.
  • If your style is not there, you can select Get additional Styles which will take you to the Zotero website.
  • Select the style you need
  • You will then get a prompt to install it into Firefox. Install the file
  • Go back to look at your selectable style options in Firefox -  you will see your new option is there.

Backing Up

  • We strongly recommend that you regularly back up your Zotero library. Syncing is not a good substitute for backing up: the Zotero server only stores the most recent version of your library.
  • To back up your Zotero library you will need to locate the Zotero data directory where your Zotero data is stored on your computer. To do this click on the actions button (gear icon) in the Zotero toolbar and select preferences - Advances tab - Show Data Directory.

  • Close Firefox and/or Zotero Standalone, and copy your Zotero data directory to a backup location, such as a flash drive.