Musicology and Ethnomusicology

The RILM blog. Has many interesting and quirky - but scholarly - items, that just might fill a gap in your research knowledge.

A free public international German-language index that includes many English-language items. Its date coverage includes the gap between the end of RIPM indexing in 1950 and the start of RILM in 1967.

This resource presents the music collection of Dresden’s Catholic court church (Hofkirche) as it was catalogued in 1765. The collection comprises works that were either composed for, or collected and adapted for use in, the royal chapel.

The Digital Mozart Edition (DME) aims to prepare the entire work of Wolfgang Amadéus Mozart (1756–1791) in digital form and make it available worldwide free of charge for scientific, private and educational purposes.

Musicology conference listings, dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other resources of interest to musicologists.

A searchable guide to online resources across a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. The tag cloud for subjects is helpful.

A website devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference. Has many useful lists, including free music e-journals and composer websites. The blog is recommended.

A cross-index of data for over 38,000 opera and oratorio premieres. Entries include works that received a public performance between the years 1589-1995.

Allows you to access an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources. You can find bibliographical data, full text data, and information about experts in musicology. ViFaMusik is “work in progress” and is continuously being extended.

A catalogue of early vocal music to designed to make vocal music more discoverable. Drawing upon scholarly resources, music is catalogued by voice type, instrumentation, type of composition, and more.

The Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music is an open access collection of previously unpublished works in peer-reviewed, critical editions.

List of musicology links maintained by the American Musicological Society

The AJIRN network is dedicated to facilitating the interdisciplinary study of jazz and improvisation in Australia and New Zealand through the presentation of an annual conference, the management of an email list dedicated to the promotion of Australian and New Zealand jazz and improvisation research and the administration of a mentoring program for those interested in producing traditional research outputs.

An international organization established to promote inquiry, scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music.

Links to musicology conferences, national musicological societies and music publishers.

Website for the Musicology Society of Australia.

Website for The Society for Ethnomusicology which provides resources for careers, principles of professional responsibility, podcasts, archives and more.

Digitised manuscripts and archives. To consult the British Library’s main catalogue of manuscript material visit Search our Catalogue Archives and Manuscripts.

Digital copies of all manuscripts and first editions. In German.

Digital versions of over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin from the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection.

DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts.

Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland. Includes many music manuscripts.

Gallica gives access to many digitised resources including scores and manuscripts.

An interdisciplinary, multifaceted database of manuscripts and printed books that are relevant to the Alamire Foundation’s research and activities. Especially focuses on the musical heritage of the Low Countries from the early Middle Ages until 1800.