Finding, Borrowing and Listening
Finding
Refer to the Media Collections for Fine Arts and Music guide for assistance with locating sound recordings, including CDs and vinyl.
Borrowing
Most CDs can be borrowed for 7 days. Check the library catalogue.
You can borrow:
- 5 CDs at a time from the Southbank Library
Listening
The library has a number of listening stations. Headphones can be borrowed from the Southbank Service Desk if required.
Online Sound Recordings
The links below connect to databases that contain streamed sound recordings.
For more information, refer to the Media Collections for Fine Arts and Music guide.
- Australian Composers OnlineFor students and staff of the University of Melbourne, over 500 streaming online MP3 titles of the works of Australian composers are available from the University of Melbourne Digital Repository. Unimelb Login required.
- Classical Music Library (Alexander Street Press)Multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
- Internet Archive: Audio ArchiveContains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings
- Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press)Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more.
- Naxos Music Library (Naxos Digital Services)Classical music recordings from more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels
Guided Imagery
Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Collection at the Southbank Library has a series of CDs for use with guided imagery. The call number range is 4000-4101 inclusive.
You will need to perform a search for a specific call number to find these particular recordings